We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great genuine Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the mitre - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
the mitre
earlham road | earlham, Norwich, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great genuine Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife is Chinese, so we won't be fooled by deep fried pretend Cantonese rubbish. This was the genuine thing. Best Chinese restaurant we have been to in UK, including London ChinaTown. Lots of Chinese there - always a good sign, Friendly and helpful staff too.
Try it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food is excellent 好的菜”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I went in here because I was bored with eating in my own Chinese restaurant .
I've been in the restaurant game for over 10 years now , I had wonton noodle soup followed by fillet beef and special chow mein . It was better than my own restaurant the only minor gripe was I thought they could have been better dressed and a little more enthusiastic .
The food was superb authentic and very good portions .
I looked a right state as I had been working outside all day . But they made me feel very comfortable .
I love going here this is my second time I will be back , when I was there there were two Chinese students eating and they seemed to likely too if the Chinese like it it says it all really .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent authentic Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This place is fantastic for really authentic Chinese food and the prices are pretty reasonable. If you are looking for what is typically sold as Chinese food in the UK you may well be disappointed, while if you are a Chinese student (a large number of customers) or want a tast of abroad you'll love it. I loved it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dreadful. Really do go elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was an awfully rough pub, now converted into a Chinese. We were hopeful that this place could do a roaring trade and be similar to the Phoenix in Cambridge, where it is enjoyable to eat. Nothing could be further from the truth.

The food I would say is the worst Chinese food I have ever eaten in Norwich - really greasy and poorly presented - certainly sub-takeaway or market stall standard, and certainly not restaurant quality. It is nowhere near the same league as Baby Buddha, the Hong Kong takeaway on Unthank Road or the newish Chinese restaurant in the Earlham Road shopping centre.

The service was poor. A very rough chap indeed (very similar to the previous clientele of the Mitre when it was a pub) was acting as a kind of intermediary, with a young Chinese girl completely out of her depth trying to serve us and a couple of amateurish pensioners in the back doing the cooking. We were a large party of five adults, one of whom is Hong Kong chinese, and three children and we were the only paying customers (the rough chap, well, I don't know what he was doing), so you might have thought they would be pleased to see us. Well, they certainly didn't act that way. We asked for some extra pancakes for the children and they told us 'only if you pay extra'. I have never experienced that before.

Decor and surroundings are trashy. It was a cold day and the place was freezing.

I love Chinese food and walk past this 'restaurant' every day, and will continue to do so, as I cannot imagine circumstances in which I would return. I have also frequently seen the delivery of pre-cooked rice, carried in enormous laundry baskets, without any form covering, in the boots of passenger cars parked outside. Hardly hygenic or fresh in my opinion.

I really wanted this place to succeed, but it is dire. It is all a bit of a joke, even down to the phoentic transliteration of Mitre into Chinese, but it isn't so funny when you receive the bill. I note the other postive reviews appear to have been posted on the same day.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food - friendly family environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had a really good Chinese buffet at the Mitre. Excellent food and value for money. very friendly atmosphere and children welcome.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the mitre also viewed

 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the mitre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.