We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Norwich Riverside

Bella Italia Norwich Riverside
4AA Leisure Scheme | Riverside, Norwich NR1 1EE, England
01603 615584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 662 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Perched along the pretty riverside in Norwich city centre, Bella Italia is a great place to enjoy a bite to eat, Italian style. Just a few streets away from Norwich train station, this waterside branch of Bella Italia, one of three in Norwich, offers a relaxed, family style ambience. Typical rustic Italian interiors with tiled flooring and walls adorned with poster prints of all sizes create just the right atmosphere for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The a la carte menu is a veritable feast of classic Italian dishes, such as the Polpette Americano (meatballs in a rich tomato sauce atop a bed of steaming spaghetti) or the succulent sirloin steak fillet served with garlic mushrooms, fries and a rocket salad. Those with a sweet tooth are in for a treat with the dessert list with the likes of tiramisu and mascarpone cheesecake on offer.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time to this restaurant and pleasantly surprised.The atmosphere was lively and the waitress cheerful, well informed and considerate...it was my daughter's birthday and she was presented with a mocktail...a nice touch.
Food was good value and well presented.
Overall a very positive experience for one who is generally unimpressed by chain restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a lovely Italian meal, The food and the service was very good. Eat early to avoid large groups of people who can be rather loud and noisy, And that,s only the sober ones lol. Mid weak is your best bet. But to be honest I had no reason to complain about other diners. The smaller the amount of people eating, The faster the food and service is. As there was only two of us the food and service was fast and very good. I would go back again if I,m ever back in Norwich.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply Appalling!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited as family of four for nice half term treat after cinema - Terrible!

The restaurant is dirty, with filthy glasses on some tables. The waitress was still dressed up in a weird medusa Halloween outfit the day after Halloween. She was totally disinterested and didn't use a pad to take our order, subsequently having to come back to check what we wanted.

I didn't receive my olives which she had obviously forgotten about and the children's starters came out with their main meals. Our meals were 'OK' but quite tasteless and hardly warm. Plates finally cleared by the 'Manager' who didn't even speak to us, let alone ask if everything was ok! After another wait our dessert orders were finally taken which we received another 30 minutes later. For a simple two-course meal we were there for over 2 hours.

I have never been in a restaurant served by such uninterested staff, you get better service at a drive through in the comfort of your own car, not in a cold, dirty restaurant. Will never go back, Prezzo, Beccles on the way home next time. Save yourselves the disappointment - DO NOT GO!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A group of 16 of us went for my partners bithday. The staff were quite slow, i thought they'd be quite attentative in the hope of a big tip but it took 30 mins to get our first drinks order, an hour before we got our starters and they were so slow with drink orders throughout the night i should have ordered 2 at a time! The food was average, wasnt anything special. Probably wouldnt go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend both ordered of the pasta menu and when our food arrive it was looking delicious and very hot. My food was wonderful and I managed to eat most of it. Me and my friend were so please with it when told our waiter how pleased we were. And to give our compliments to the chef.. Will return!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Italia Norwich Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Norwich Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.