We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We found this place by accident and wish we had done so sooner. We stayed in the annex ; our room was large, comfortable, spotless and tastefully decorated (as were the rest of the hotel public areas). The bathroom was spacious and included a jacuzzi bath; even dressing gowns were provided. Breakfast was in a conservatory: the choices were very good. The food was freshly cooked and excellent. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    157
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
37
171
44
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Large, elegant bedroom though a little dark. Evening meal was first class and served in attractive surroundings. Breakfast, by contrast, was a little disappointing - not much choice and sauce came in a 'plastic tomato' - Oh Dear!

Staff were helpful and reception friendly. We were allowed to move into our bedrooms at 9.45 am which we have never encountered before - full marks to the Annesley for that!

Hotel well situated in quiet are and excellent for exploring Norwich, 20 minutes walk to castle and city centre. If in Norwich again we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wow, This place is a little gem.
I stayed here on business for the week, Check in on the Monday was swift, no hassle at the desk, I signed the form to check in, gave my car details over and was presented with my room card.
No hassle, no messing about with bank cards - perfect.
I was lucky enough to be in the coach house and upstairs. The room was very spacious, had a desk to work at and a lovely modern shower room.
I can't speak highly enough of this hotel.
I only ate at the hotel once during my stay for Dinner and had this delivered to my room as I was working, the service was swift and the food tastes amazing, after an hour someone came over and collected my tray from me so it wasn't stuck in the room or corridor, I don't eat breakfast so I can't comment on that.
Checkout was again brilliant, in and out of reception area in about 3 minutes.
The car park and internet access are both free, something that encouraged me to book here and something that's encouraged me to book in again at the end of May.
A proper home from home hotel which I'm already looking forward to staying at again soon!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed at the Annesley for one night whilst working in Norwich. There is plenty of parking and my room was clean and well equipped. Although the evening meals were appealing I chose to eat in a nearby pub as the hotel is close to Norwich centre. Breakfast is in the conservatory and there is a reasonable choice of self-serve continental or you can order a full English. I chose the English which was good. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and I would stay here again next time I'm in Norwich.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed for one night in the coach house. Nice spacious room, comfortable bed, good shower. Used booking.com and no breakfast included. Extra £11.50 each for full english.

Nice communal areas, bar and restaurant on site.

Would stay here again if in the area

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethj1112
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Annesley House Hotel a couple of weeks back and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable with a very good location. What really made our stay though was the staff, particularly on rception, who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. a really lovley place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed one night at a corporate rate whilst visiting an office in Norwich. Plenty of off road parking, comfortable and clean public areas and a well equipped single room on this occasion. A little noisy at the front of the hotel in the early evening and morning but otherwise a great nights sleep. Although a short walk into Norwich centre, I chose to eat in the hotel that evening and would recommend the food. Two menus - one for the weary traveller like me and another more fine dining. Great selections and the fish pie I had was perfect. Breakfast was a self-serve continental in the morning and you could order a fry-up - one again, great stuff. Staff were so friendly and helpful - will definitely stay again next time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#8 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.