We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A very welcoming hotel with delightful staff. The room we had was really spacious and a huge bed! We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. My husband commented that the venison he had was as good, if not better, than any he had tried. The steaks were also very good indeed. The hotel is very convenient for the City and parking is fine. The only slight negative is that the bathroom is tired - I have previously stayed in the coach house and although the room was smaller, the shower was much better.

I have will have no hesitation in returning to this hotel on my next trip to Norwich.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    141
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
33
150
39
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed for B&B, and didn't sample the evening menu, but my brief experience of the place was very favourable. The hotel, just back from a suburban main road, is only a short walk from Norwich city centre. It is based on two attractive Georgian style houses linked by a conservatory/corridor.
The reception lady was pleasant and helpful. My single room (No 2) wasn't of cat-swinging proportions but perfectly adequate. What's more, three of the boxes which in my not-so-humble opinion make all the difference were well and truly ticked, to wit: a bath (blessed relief after a four-hour meeting); hot chocolate sachet (why don't more hotels think of light sleepers?); and, wonder of wonders, a proper radio! (no need to get the trusty little Roberts from the bag. Hoteliers, please note: radio just isn't the same if you have to listen via the telly). Incidentally there was a decent TV too, which you can't say about everywhere.
The cooked breakfast was definitely a cut above the average. If Michelin had categories for scrambled egg and fried bread they'd have given Annesley House a star. Breakfast was made all the more pleasant by the sun flooding into the conservatory restaurant.
Which reminds me, my sincere apologies to the management. As I'd paid for the stay in advance I forgot to settle up for my copy of The Independent. I'll put the money in a charity box somewhere if it's OK with you.

Room Tip: Mine was on the main road side with the sash window up but I slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are looking for a very good hotel then the Annesley House Hotel in Norwich is the place to be. Our room was spacious and very clean, the staff is very friendly, the food is excellent and the hotel is just five minutes walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as I was singing at Norwich Cathedral. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 24 which has had a negative review but any problems must have been addressed because it was a very nice room. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended if you want a bit of a change from a soulless chain hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is well situated about 10 mins into the town centre. There is car parking. The bedroom was a little 'tired' and dated and in fact the general appearance is like that but it has a certain charm about it. The restaurant is good in a nice conservatory room. The staff are friendly and helpful. It probably is more like a 3.5 but perhaps not enough to be 4 as a general rating. As a business hotel or a city break it probably is a good location to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

As a business traveler, we usually use the larger chains of Hotels which have good facilities but no heart.
Annesley House is different. Small but with so much to offer. I enjoyed comfortable bed (rare), excelent breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, helpful and friendly staff and a prime location.
Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for a night as part of a business visit to norwich, ample car parking and easy access from the main road. Although I arrived late in the evening after the restaurant had closed the helpful receptionist also asked if I had eaten. Stayed in Room 17, everything you would need was provided, a single room with a 4ft bed, the only minor points were there was not much space in the room and a small bathroom with limited room between the toilet and sink that may be difficult to navigate for some people and the decoration was in need of some work.Comfortable bed and very good nights sleep, cooked breakfast was also very tasty and service was excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#9 Family Hotel in Norwich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.