We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maids Head Hotel to your Saves list
Maids Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We held a 3-day family reunion at the Maids Head Hotel in Norwich in October 2013. The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent. The service was wonderful. We had a very successful reunion and would return to this hotel again. FWIW, I had stayed at the hotel previously on my own and my experience then was the same. It's a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: I vote for room 216!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear barnlady,

Thank you very much for feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    153
    48
    28
    4
See reviews for
58
220
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here the other Sunday night. Hotel in nice position for city,but disappointing, rather faded elegance we felt. Room was OK, but not as special as was implied. It started to rain as we were about to go out, hotel did not have any umbrellas! Breakfast was good,but overall was not good value..

Room Tip: Can give no help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Charles_Beth673,

Thank you very much for feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are obviously extremely disappointed to see that we did not fully meet your expectations on your visit to us and must apologise for this.

We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention about the umbrella's, we are currently in the process of ordering some Maids Head Hotel branded umbrellas and are just awaiting delivery on this any day soon. Apologies that this was not in place for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for one night as part of a package with my local coach tour company. Hotel is in an excellent position to explore the city opposite the fine cathedral. Friendly staff and we loved the information in the book in our room giving ideas for seeing the city. Room was very average certainly not the standard of bathroom, towels, bed linen that we were expecting from a 4 star hotel. Certainly not as good as room we have when staying In the 4 star gable lodge in Devon for example. I must say the bed ""Hypnos",was very comfortable. Room was nice and warm. Really looked forward to breakfast as normally we only snatch a bowl of cereal in our busy lives in the week but we were very disappointed. We were not In the restaurant but in another room. Toast was on the tables when we went in the room. It was cold. We had to go to the restaurant for Apple juice and fresh fruit which was lovely and carry it back to the room. Fresh fruit was excellent. Still the cold toast on the table....I asked for hot toast and after eating fruit I helped myself to bacon and tomato. Plate was lukewarm and food barely warm even though it was under lights. I ate this and then the fresh toast came, it was not hot. When I said food was cold waitress offered to plate me up another breakfast. I had no faith that this would be hot so declined. As part of a coach party I really felt we were treated differently to other guests In the hotel not being allowed to eat In the restaurant. So disappointing. The hot chocolate and home made cookies we had later were excellent although £3.50 is the most I have ever paid for a hot choc drink. We decided not to lunch there either as we had been so disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is in a great location right in the middle of the city, literally minutes from cathedral, castle, shops, bars, restaurant etc. and with a free car park. Bedroom (ours was an executive double) was very large with a huge bed, nice furnishings, large fluffy towels and all the extras you expect for the price and it was super clean. The service we received from all staff was excellent but especially the barman and the waitress - they are a real asset. Food was really excellent and I have reviewed the restaurant separately. The hotel is a quirky mix of old and new and very pleasant for that. The only thing that let the hotel down was the en-suite bathroom - it did not match the standard of the room at all with grubby grout, manky mastic and the smallest, narrowest bath ever with a shower over it. Shower was angled in such a way that made it difficult to get wet at all and no-one over a size 12 would have a hope of fitting into the space you have to shower in anyway. The toiletries provided could have been of a higher standard too, for the price. All in all we had a really nice stay and would not hesitate to stay again at any time or to recommend the Maid's Head to others but I would ask for a room with a better bathroom next time.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear cullies,

Thank you very much for feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are obviously extremely disappointed to see that we did not fully meet your expectations on your visit to us and must apologise for this.

We would appreciate it if you could contact our operations manager Dan Hawkie on operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk with details of your stay so that we can investigate which room you stayed in and investigate the matter fully.

Apologies once again and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Maids Head is a very pleasant independent hotel centrally located in Norwich within easy walking of the city centre and station. The two rooms we stayed in were of a good size and both bathroom and rooms had been outfitted to a good standard. Every member of staff we spoke to were courteous, helpful and knowledgeable.

We took breakfast which was of a good variety and reasonable for the £10 pre-booked price. Note that it was possible to obtain breakfast at this rate by booking up to 23:00 the previous evening. It was possible to have a number of egg dishes, smoked haddock, kippers, porridge prepared to order. Breakfast can be a let-down at otherwise reasonable hotels, this was not the case here.

The Bar has the same excellent choice of some 40 wines by the glass available in the restaurant winepress@wensum which will have a separate review. The immediate bar area is a little tight on space if there are more than a few people using it, but there is plenty of lounge space nearby.

We had booked two nights and ended up needing to spend a third due to overhead power lines being brought down by trees in a storm. I am very keen to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your kind comments onto Tripadvisor, we hope to welcome you back to The Maids Head Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were expecting a much higher quality of room based on the high price we paid for it.

We booked two rooms, one of which was acceptable, but the other stank of cigarette smoke despite being a non-smoking room. We called reception who suggested air freshener in the room, which was unacceptable. In the end we were offered another room at the opposite end of the hotel which was a real shame as this was a special occasion and we were nowhere near our friends.

The room didn't reflect the high price; it was similar to that of a 3 star hotel apart from the extra space. There weren't any extras eg. a bathrobe, and overall didn't have the 'wow' factor. At night the rooms were very stuffy due to the radiator being on at full blast all night. Perhaps a more visible temperature control or thermostat would be useful in the room.

However, the staff were friendly and the location of the hotel was perfect for shopping in the city centre.

My last point would be that the website needs to be changed to be clearer on what the rooms are like, as I feel we were misled due to the lack of photos for the standard and executive rooms. The photos of the more expensive suites suggest your room will be of a similar style, which was a bit of a let down when we saw our room.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for disabled travellers as you have to climb a set of stairs to reach the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ellen K

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback onto Tripadvisor and I was very concerned to read your review, we are hoping to upgrade our heating system shortly which will include upgrading the controls in the older part of the building, I will also review the gallery on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great location in the centre of Norwich overlooking the cathedral and in short walking distance from the castle and shops . Quant and old hotel in parts , but we stayed in one of the new rooms overlooking the car park and cathedral . Lovely room. Service at reception and at breakfast was excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room overlooking the car park ( which looks across to the cathedral ) . Some of the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Will W,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maids Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.