We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maids Head Hotel to your Saves list
Maids Head Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Wedding day to remember
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“A good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We meet for our business group meetings on a regular bi-weekly basis at the Maids Head, the layout of the hotel is unique with great areas to have structured business meetings with private and relaxed places for breakaways and 121s.

Our latest business event was in the Minstrel Suite, which is full of old charm and character but is well equipped with the latest technical facilities, all the staff were helpful and polite and the service as usual was excellent, especially from Bruno who looks after us on a regular basis.

I do actively try to make our meetings a constructive learning culture, to surround ourselves with positive people, in pleasant surroundings which the Maids Head Hotel certainly lends itself to. It an ideal venue for hosting any business event, having ample car parking on site and is ideally located in a central location with everything you need within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lorna B,

Thank you for your kind comments. We really do appreciate your feedback and we will pass your comments on to the team, especially Bruno.

We are delighted to see that you are happy with our venue and we look forward to working closely with you over the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    176
    62
    29
    5
See reviews for
67
264
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for my birthday, we had a super time, the room was lovely! The staff were helpful and polite. The hotel is a great location, very central for shops and sightseeing. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Claire J,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is a lovely mediaeval building, but our experience did not match what TripAdvisor had led us to expect.

The room was tired and dated, and the attitude of some of the staff did not make us feel welcome.

On arrival we were directed to the car park, but not told how to exit, so had to queue at reception again to get a barcode for the gate.

We were given the secret room on the second floor. Secret because there are no signs to it from the top of the stairs, necessitating yet another visit to reception, only to be told we used the 'wrong' stairs (ie. the ones near the car park with a sign at the bottom stating they led to our room).

The room had tired 1970s style furniture with drawers that do not stay shut (ok, the floor slopes, but the furniture could have been levelled). The sheets were stained. A bathroom fitting was hanging off the wall. On the plus side, the shower was good.

Breakfast was fine, as it should have been for the price they charge.

Overall our experience was no better than average, and was poor value at the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear David_G635678,

We were very disappointed to read your comments in relation to your recent stay with us. This certainly does not sound like the usual way that guests leave us, as you can see from the majority of our reviews on this website alone. We must apologise that you did not thorougly enjoy your time with us on this occasion.

We would appreciate it if you could contact our operations manager Dan Hawkie on operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk so we could discuss your comments in more detail and investigate the matter fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My lady friend booked a meal + bed + breakfast deal for us to spend our anniversary night together.

The service we received throughout our stay was top-notch; as was the quality of the food served in the restaurant; and the room service breakfast!!

My lady friend is Scottish AND SO I am assuming that this place offered a decent deal!!

The location is excellent if you fancy a wander into Norwich too!!

Room Tip: the executive double room (319) has a big bed, which is NOT two beds pushed together, which is brill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear PaulChristy,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was bringing my son to do his post-graduate studies at UEA, and needed a place to stay in order to get him settled in on campus. I was fortunate enough to secure accommodations at Maids Head during a special Bed & Breakfast special, where we were treated with a beautiful room and a spectacular breakfast each day! The front desk staff was wonderful and very helpful at any hour. The layout of the hotel was very unique and private with great areas to relax. The hotel is In a central location with everything you need is in walking distance. I am looking forward to coming to Norwich again this year and hopefully be able to stay with you again!

Room Tip: Just tell the hotel what you require and/or wish to make your stay great! Look for the very special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Melanie J,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a Reunion and AGM in the Maids Head Hotel.
The staff were excellent - couldn't do enough for us all!
As was the food.
The only drawback were the 3 sets of small stairs with no lift from our room to the restaurant.
We also prefer shower only.
There was a lift to the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Not aware that there was any 'bad' rooms! Quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Anne L,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We must apologise that you found problems with access to certain areas of the hotel. We have been awarded an accessibly friendly hotel award but obviously a building of such an age does have its restrictions in what we can do with regards to accessibility etc. We hope that you were able to overcome these issues and as stated we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We held a dinner dance for 60 work colleagues, some of whom were leaving the company. The support of the Hotel team throughout the preparation and on the evening itself was first class. In particular I would mention Dan the Head of Operations who organised the team brilliantly and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall the meal and service were great and it made for a really memorable evening. I would most certainly recommend to anyone thinking of booking a wedding, party of similar function.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your comments on to the team, especially Dan whom I am sure will be delighted to read your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maids Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.