We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tasty food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maddermarket Kitchen

The Maddermarket Kitchen
20 St John Maddermarket, Norwich NR2 1DN, England
+44 1603 460558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 661 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We are always looking for new places to eat and we were not disappointed when visiting the Maddermarket Kitchen for the first time! The food was excellent - fine dining style but not pretentious. We had the three courses for £24.95 and each course was tasty and beautifully presented.

The service was excellent - attentive but not rushed - and the waiter was happy to chat to us.

We will be recommending the Maddermarket Kitchen to family and friends immediately!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    58
    20
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“GOOD FOR NORWICH.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Recently taken over by Stewart Duffield, which seems to be an improvement on the previous occupant. My wife and I were frequent visitors before and it was very pleasant, but unfortunately went slightly downhill after the Chef's wife had a baby, so it closed. If the new owner continues as at present, then it should be successful.
No licence at present and seems as though the policy of BYOB might continue, because it is rather popular. Nice to be able to take an expensive bottle costing less than half what a restaurant charges with only £5.00 corkage !
The set lunch menu is an absolute steal at £13.45 for three excellent courses. Breast of Pigeon and Salad, followed by Wild Mushroom Risotto with a nice plate of Cheddar Cheese to end the meal. Next time we have decided to take one bottle of white wine and half a bottle of red wine. It will mean either getting a Taxi or 'Bus home though !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentines meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had an incredible meal here on Valentines Day. We were made to feel very special. The front of house and service was excellent. We felt looked after but not overpowered. The table was ready on time and well laid. The food was well cooked, very fresh and well presented. The main course was exceptional, the best lamb dish I have tasted. Entirely recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“day trip to norwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I got the name of this restaurant from tripadviser and although no drink licence yet we took a bottle with us and had a most delightful meal at a very reasonable price will definately be going again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

As visitors to Norwich, we pitched up to this restaurant with no prior booking. It's only a small place (which probably works in its favour) and we realised later that we were exceptionally lucky to get a table - the people who had booked the table had confused lunch and dinner menus and decided to go elsewhere.

I've eaten some good food, and I have to say that this is jostling near the top of the pile. A sublime starter of pigeon with well balanced tastes on the plate, a crispy duck breast on excellent mash and a brilliant dessert, mixing apple and salted caramel tastes.

Thanks to the front of house staff, who were j attentive and talkative, to just the right level, with a relaxed but professional air.

The restaurant doesn't have a drinks licence, and so we nipped off and bought a bottle of our own. We don't mind paying corkage, but thought we should have been told beforehand and £10 seems maybe a little steep in the light of the fact that the place doesn't have a licence.

But - having said that - the meal itself was an excellent price for the quality, and we left feeling really happy with the whole experience.

If we know we're going back to Norwich, we'll book in advance and be sure of a table.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maddermarket Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Maddermarket Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maddermarket Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.