We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Hickman's restaurant

Roger Hickman's restaurant
79 Upper St Giles, Norwich NR2 1AB, England
+44 1603 633522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 616 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $91
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went last night for a celebratory meal. It's a nice enough little restaurant tucked away in the city centre. Made a reservation via phone and spoke to a lovely woman who confirmed our table. For a midweek sitting, the restaurant was about 75% full. It's not particularly modern or cutting edge but it's nice and not "old". Ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was amazing, all the dishes are excellent with two being incredible. Dishes were explained simply as were the wine pairings, which is a good thing-straight to the point. The service was fantastic, polite, friendly and totally unobtrusive. Very good value for money at £100 per head...you pay at least double in London. Their a la carte is also very reasonable for a restaurant of this calibre. Will most definitely return and cannot praise this place enough. The waitress did say that weekend bookings have a two week wait at the moment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    63
    39
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Superb lunch beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Although we only had an hour to spare we thoroughly enjoyed everything about this restaurant - the service, the subtle flavours of the food, the portion` size and the overall ambiance. From the extremely tasty watermelon amuse bouche, to the crab salad and onto the sea trout - which really lived up to the description of salmon/trout - all was excellent. My wife and colleagues praised the tomato salad and beef carpaccio, so altogether all was well - very well!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful service, nice atmosphere, great wine and amazing food. Would recommend highly to anyone. Went as an anniversary treat but would love to go every week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of the best places to eat in Norwich without a doubt. Great food, great wine selection. Have been several times now and never had anything other than a suburb dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently visited Roger Hickman's for lunch to celebrate my 50th birthday with my family and was very impressed by the overall standard of food and service. I have known the restaurant for many years under David Adlard's ownership and can only regret not visiting more frequently in recent years since its new ownership.

The set lunch is amazingly good value given the quality of food on offer (£19 for two courses, £23 for three courses) with the obligatory amuse-bouche pre-starter that most higher-end places offer these days. The wine list is a little on the expensive side but no more than you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre. The staff are polite, friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. All-in-all, a memorable experience and I would highly recommend the lunch menu. Evenings are more expensive but for that you get a much more extensive menu and I can say it is well worth trying also but expect a much larger bill!

How the Michelin inspectors continue to ignore this place is beyond me but it seems to earn a star these days you need to offer dry ice, fireworks and snail porridge. It's a crying shame that good, honest and really tasty food doesn't get a look-in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roger Hickman's restaurant also viewed

 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Been to Roger Hickman's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Hickman's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.