We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Hickman's restaurant

Roger Hickman's restaurant
79 Upper St Giles, Norwich NR2 1AB, England
+44 1603 633522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 662 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $31 - $94
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited on the recommendation of a friend, which can be a bit chancy! We were welcomed in and shown to our table, drinks quickly arrived, Olives on the table which is thoughtful, Wonderful Bread, delightful amuse bouche, which is always a good idea and evrything flowed well from there on, excellent food, pleasant and efficient service and a great cheesboard - do try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    54
    35
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is really one of the best restaurants in Norwich. The lunch menu is extremely good value for money - although we had the tasting menu. Very fine tastes and good ideas. My only comment would be that the service could have been a little more cheerful. One particular waitress came over as a little sullen as if it was a real effort to serve. Which slightly marred the dining experience. But maybe just an off day. Food very good though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food; perfect for a romantic dinner for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent food, particularly the mouthwatering Dedham Vale steak (cooked to perfection) and the delectable - and very generous - cheese board!
Strangely lacking in atmosphere, despite the attentive staff and quiet murmur of other diners; not sure why, really.
Overall, excellent food; perfect for our purpose - a romantic dinner for two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion and loved the flight of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Celebrating my husbands 60th birthday with the family so we went for the taster menu and the flight of wines .
The ambiance of the place and the service was fantastic and the different wines too, the food was good but not out of this world so sadly did not match up to the rest!
I would recommend trying the flight of wines especially for a special occasion and I reckon we where all tipsy by the 3rd glass!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Even better second time for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Returned to Roger Hickman's restaurant this time for my wifes birthday and a lunchtime booking. The lunchtime menu is fantastic value a £22 for 3 courses. Surely I don't think you can get this quality food anywhere in the UK at that price. Roger greeted us himself on our arrival which was welcoming. The waitress brought out freshly baked bread that was still warm and a tastey amuse-bouche. We again chose the Spider Shiraz which was as lovely as last time. The starters were great, in fact they would easily sit on the menue as main dishes, see pictures. I had the duck and my wife had the vegetarian option with just in season asparagus. We had the chikcen and mackeral for mains. Amazing flavours that all complemented each other. The chicken was so tender and no othe flavours over powered the chicken. We then ordered the cheese for our 3rd course which was great. Pleny of different cheeses with home made relish.

I would recommend this lunch menu for anyone on any budget although we wnet for a special occasion it would easily suit a business lunch or catch up with friends. We will soon plan our next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roger Hickman's restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roger Hickman's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Hickman's restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.