We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous risotto and pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paolo's Restaurant

Paolo's Restaurant
1 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JJ, England (Formerly Paolo's Pizzeria)
+44 1603 611857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 665 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ciao! Welcome to Paolo's Restaurant, a family run restaurant in Norwich serving delicious authentic Italian cuisine. We offer freshly prepared traditional Italian food, from stone oven baked pizzas to pasta, seafood and salads. Whether you're stopping to sample our authentic Italian dishes, a nice cup of coffee, well deserved glass of wine or refreshing bottle of beer you can kick back and watch the world go by seated indoors, or dine alfresco. Based in the heart of Norwich, housed in a fantastic old art deco building in the Norwich Lanes area, we are amidst a vibrant shopping area and delightful boutiques. Come and join us, arrivederci.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Generous risotto and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The menu offers a good choice of pizza, pasta and meat and fish main courses. There is a good selection of vegetarian dishes. We ordered various pasta and risotto options, priced between about £10 and £13, with wine and soft drinks. The waiter was helpful with recommendations. All the food came extremely quickly, portions were generous and we were all happy.
It's quite a large space inside, pleasantly laid out and not noisy. The only issue is that is is quite dark and we all found it hard to read the menus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    24
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Reasonably priced with friendly staff. The food was cooked to order and you could see the clean kitchen and preparation area. We both had the Calzone pizza - huge and extremely tasty. we ordered Fries, but didn't really need them! 2 people ate with wine and pizza/fries - £38.00. Good value and tasty hot fresh food. Would go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Converted to liking Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I've given Paulo's 5 stars because it has succeeded in converting my husband to liking Italian food (how could anyone not like Italian food you may ask). My food was OK - insalata tricolore followed by pollo gorgonzola. Very dry chicken rescued by great Gorgonzola and spinach sauce. My husband however declared his sardine starter as fantastic and his seafood risotto as brilliant. Service was swift and charming. We visit Norwich often and I suspect we will be visiting Paulo's again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroxham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a meal here and although we hadn't booked we were able to be seated immediately. The service was good but we placed our drinks order quite quickly and were then asked by someone else if we wanted to order drinks. the same thing happened when we ordered food. Also, we were checked two or three times on what we thought of our meals. Perhaps as it was early evening the staff were not too busy but though this was a little bit of overkill. Would certainly go here again and the prices are quite reasonable. We only had a main course and a drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my meal here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The following review is my personal opinion only, based solely on my own experience.

Tasty food, reasonable prices, satisfactory service. Overall a good experience - would go again and would recommend to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paolo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paolo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paolo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.