We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Bar

Frank's Bar
19 Bedford Street, Norwich NR2 1AR, England
01603618902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 666 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: European, English, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Frank’s Bar is a cafe-bar in central Norwich. We have filled our bar with good food, top drinks, marvelous music and general chilled-outness. We’re happy for you to enjoy Frank’s Bar in a range of different ways, whether it be with a coffee, glass of wine, tasty meal, or cheeky nibbles we’re really quite flexible. We like to make Sunday’s special as well by offering a fantastic Sunday Breakfast menu (served from 11.00 - 6.00) and a classic afternoon film (screened in the back room) along with the usual selection of great coffee, good papers to peruse and general loveliness.
Mundesley, England,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Varied choice of food, excellently prepared, gluten free and vegetarian options clearly identified. Great choice of hot and cold drinks for all tastes, good atmosphere. Friendly attentive and helpful staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    60
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cosy and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Just go you'll love it.
Be it for an afternoon "break from shopping" coffee or an evening meal the laid back atmosphere and friendly staff will have you looking forward to your next visit. We will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything hits the spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is truly a great find with good quality food and wine at a very resonable price with impeccable service. So good that we have been back several times when usually a weekend trip to Norwich with my husband will involve finding a different restaurant each time. The menu is a mix of English, Moroccan and Spanaish tapas with many options for vegetarians and vegans. Eveything is delicious including the lamb kofta, sausages, fish stew, salads and spicy saute potatoes. On the last visit I persuaded chef Lola to part with the recipe for her yummy Moroccan lentil stew flavoured with ras el hanout topped with thick yogurt, dukkah and served with yummy hot bread. I made the soup (including the ras el hanout), yogurt, dukkah and bread today in my Thermomix and enjoyed the experience all over again! Thank you Lola!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool with an easy quirky edge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Relaxed friendly and excellent value for money. When in Norwich go to Franks. We found it by accidnet and would make oit our local if we were here longer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A cafe that appeals to the hippie in us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Coming from the hippie generation, I thought this was a 'back in time' experience. It was small, cosy, informal and unconventional. The menu sort of rambled a bit but stayed true to its character of good quality, healthy food. It was small so you had to wait for seats and may have to share with others but that was part of its character. I was unsure as I like my space but my partner was smitten-but there again she was also from that generation. Unlike anything I have experienced since the 60's. Probably a must for those who liked life at a more relaxed pace. It was such a pleasure to find it in these days of chain eateries/coffee bars etc.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.