We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Town House | 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Another visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed and little has changed since last year. The public areas are looking a little worn and in need of some tlc.The room itself was spacious clean tidy and comfortable. One tip if you are a light sleeper try for a room at the rear of the Inn. The stairs are quite steep and difficult for anyone with a mobility problem. Booking in was quick and easy and the young man in question carried our case to the room. Breakfast was fine and all in all we would be happy to stay again. We would particularly like to compliment Tammy and Megan on their friendly and helpful attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
36
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff is this hotel's biggest asset. They are friendly, professional and welcoming. The rooms are clean, a reasonable size and adequate. The view out of the back onto the river is lovely. The food is fine for the price. I paid 66 pounds for a big room and was very happy with my stay. It's dated (but not dirty). I would stay here again for definite. Having the pub downstairs was great in my eyes and it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Room 18 was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a shame that the cleanliness of this place lets it down badly. It is in a lovely location and we called by for a carvery lunch on a glorious Sunday lunchtime. The river runs right behind and the setting is lovely.

First the food - £7ish for a carvery lunch which was a choice of 4 meats (turkey, beef, gammon and pork which were all nicely cooked and you could have some of each) was acceptable. There was a choice of roast potatoes, mashed potato, green beans (very nice) cauliflower (too hard), carrots, onions, stuffing and Yorkshire pud. Gravy was available as were horseradish sauce, apple sauce etc. However these were on a separate table and there were several flies buzzing around so I gave them a miss.

The food was adequate but the tables were awful. Scratched and bare and you had to set your own place from cutlery which stood in a pot on the table and was none too clean. Everything was just neglected. Window catches broken, peeling paint, grubby windows and so on. Outside could be a lovely garden but it was also run down and there were actually large buddlea plants growing out of the guttering at the back.

While I was there I heard a staff member telling a customer that they were closing for a few days to have new carpet fitted. Believe me, it needs a lot more than some new carpets! A thorough cleanse from top to bottom, some new hygienic looking tables and a big dollop of TLC.

I wouldn't go there again and I certainly wouldn't feel happy taking friends there as it is so shabby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to TheTown House Restaurant, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here with our 2 children. Given a room overlooking the main road, no problem at all. Room was very very clean and cleaned every day (stayed for 4 nights). We tried to be realistic when we paid and booked for the room (£200 for 4 nights), didn't expect much, to us most important is cleanliness and this Inn pleasantly offers that. Staffs were very friendly. Continental b'fast included in the price. (or you could get full English for reasonably £3.99 additional per person). Norwich FC just down the road (5 mins drive). Would stay there again when in visiting Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First impressions count for a lot in my book and this place got off to a great start. Fast and friendly service on arrival, a clean comfy sized room overlooking the river Yare, who could ask for more. We dined in the pub downstairs (very good selection of beers on offer). The meals itself were limited to a carvery and the quality of the food was very good. The best thing of all was the value for money. Under £4 each was wonderful value for money. At 6.30 there was plenty of space and although very hot inside we found a table near to the gardens. After we'd eaten we sat in the garden and had a great evening enjoying the fresh air and the scenery.
The breakfast was complimentary, but wasn't bad. There was the option to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast, but I wasn't that hungry. The continental breakfast was adequate if unexciting, but as I stress I wasn't that hungry.
Will certainly return again

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river, the views on the other side are of a disused block of flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for two nights for a family party. We were given a room overlooking the main road. Either it was well soundproofed or I was very weary, since I heard no road noise. Not an issue. The room itself was fine. I don't demand much, just a reasonable bed, a shower and adequate towels. And maybe a kettle etc. All present and correct. When I told the management that one of the lights had gone in the bathroom, it was replaced by the time we came back. We did eat from the carvery. Exactly what you would expect from a carvery. No complaints at all, especially given the price charged. The continental breakfast was not as good as I had hoped. The croissants and pastries could have been fresher. However there was plenty else to eat. The toaster has to win a prize as one of the slowest I have even encountered! Plenty parking, either in the car park itself, or immediately in front of the hotel. Southwold ales, so no complaint there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A nice clean room with double bed which I found ok but the wife said it was uncomfy. We had a river view room which was a nice outlook, the room was small so would not be suitable for a long stay. Sadly the roadside rooms would be noisy from the busy road and the view of the opposite apartment block is awful.

The bar and staff were very good and the riverside garden was lovely. The location is 45/60 mins walk into the city centre or £6.50 taxi fare.

The continental breakfast was good and there was an option of full English for an extra £3.99.

Yes its location is a bit out of the way and probably not up to the chain hotel standards but we had a very enjoyable stay there and would happily return.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Address: The Town House | 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this.Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds.Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman motte and bailey castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.