We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Town House | 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good service but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked this hotel as i wanted a change from a Premier inn, Easy to use website reasonable rate at £54.00. Arrived at hotel to steep stairs check in was ok, manager took my heavy bag up the stairs for me (another 2 flights) room was ok very clean and good tv with good reception over looked the broads. The shower was small as was the whole bathroom. The stay was average but i would say the food is crap! no roast beef ( A carvery) only pork turkey or Gammon, roast potatoes were rock hard and the food was just cold. But the service was excellent! Would i stay again no sorry i wouldnt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we have visited the town house many times recently we have seen a decline in all parts or the place we have witnessed poor cleaning of toilets and resturant the place is looking tired and worn the food has on many visits been sitting on the heatplate to long and somewhat overcooked it needs a redecorate modern tables chairs dusty tired on todays vist not many clean tables or knifes forks on table the ladies loo had a door without being able to shut as bolt broke they need air con after todays visit we are no longer going to eat or recomened to others as it needs a total revamp and deep cleen dont go you will be dissopoitned

Room Tip: better going elaewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's a great location in nice weather, Sitting in the garden by the river at breakfast is a great way to start the day. The hotel itself could be better. Our room was nice and comfortable with a nice river view, no complaints there. However getting to the room along the corridor with the strange, strong smell is not very pleasant.We paid for the full English breakfast and on the first morning this was served at the carvery area on a manned buffet basis where you just ask for what you want. On the second morning (monday) the carvery area was closed and we had to ask a staff member about breakfast. She duly disappeared into the kitchen and after about 10 minutes brought our (no choice) breakfasts. The food was o.k but on both days the coffee and orange juice ran out and was not replenished. The toast was self service and somebody burnt some, setting off the smoke detectors and when it was our turn we had to eat our toast from saucers as there were no plates left.A very mixed breakfast experience! The evening carvery is very reasonably priced and fair quality. However, there are several bars and restaurants in walking distance if you want a better quality meal. A tip on arrival... park outside the front of the building rather than in the lower car park if you can, otherwise you will have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs and through the bar to get to check in.

Room Tip: River/garden view rooms are away from the road and offer good views. If offered a choice, go for low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not the best looking hotel/b&b from the outside, looks a bit grubby. However once inside the bedroom was pleasant, spacious and we had an amazing view of the river. The main bedroom area was clean, however we felt that the bathroom could have been cleaned to a better standard, especially the tiles in the shower, and the filthy extractor fan - which probably hadn't been cleaned in years judging by the thick grey dust clogging up the ventilation. Water pressure was also an issue both from the shower and sink taps - no more than a trickle from each. The pub area (which is where the check in is situated) was ok and they offer a carvery every day at a very decent price, which was good value and really tasty. However, the tables were not cleared regularly, especially in the garden area. Breakfast offered a continental selection - toast, pastries, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee and juices - all very nice. Staff were friendly, some more helpful than others. The two girls behind the bar one evening insisted on finishing their conversation before acknowledging us and serving (not good) and we felt that the breakfast staff were there for their daily coffee morning. Overall, we paid less than what we would have for a travelodge, we didn't spend much time there. Unfortunately we will not return.

Room Tip: River view room was quiet and had an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here on a number of occasions and have been satisfied each time. The rooms vary considerably, try for room 4, I've also been told that rooms 15 and 17 are good. Some of the other rooms really are very small - single rooms in reality. All of the rooms at the back have a good view over the river. The breakfast is good and at £3.29 real value. We also always go for the carvery at £3.99 (for another £1.50 you get extra meat, a big Yorkshire pudding, and a sausage) great value. It's a 30 minute walk into town, but a nice walk. If you're after a nice place to stay just outside of town at a reasonable price I would recommend this establishment. On the negative side some of the rooms are very small and the bar area can be a bit grubby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

stayed here before and recommended. this time at check in we were advised that we had not been allocated the family room we had booked but had been given a second room at no extra charge. we had my elderly mother in law with us who gets easily confused and loses her way. my husband and i had specifically booked this room but were advised that the hotel had been overbooked as they used. 2 booking companies. we accepted the rooms as we had no alternative at short notice. at breakfast the choise of food and drink was good but thencoffe ran out and was not replenished as did a number of things. the cutlery and plates were not washed properly and the coffee machine looked like it had not been cleaned in months. think i will try elsewhere next time i am in Norwich

Room Tip: rear rooms overlooking thw river have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed four nights. The room clean and tidy overlooked the gardens and river. The room was cleaned every day. The price included a continental breakfast, for £3 you could have the full breakfast which was good value.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We travelled with parents over the age of 75 who did find the stairs difficult. The Carvery was very popular which made parking difficult at meal times although we always managed to park. Its location was perfect for visiting the Broads. Unfortunately we went in June and it rained most of the time so we did not get a chance to sit out in the garden overlooking the river, but I can imagine on a nice summers day it would be relaxing watching the Swans, Ducks and Boats go by.

Room Tip: We had two rooms with even numbers 8,10 which overlooked the garden and river and both rooms were qu...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Address: The Town House | 18 - 22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this.Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds.Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman motte and bailey castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.