We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wondeful get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Yurt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut Yurt
Save
You added Walnut Yurt to your Saves list
Bridge House, Sea Palling Road, Norwich NR12 0TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“a wondeful get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our first experience of staying in a yurt and it absolutely lived up to everything we expected! Wonderfully decorated and in lovely field closed off so it felt like our private space but also close to the house for any problems we had. Cheryl and Derek were the best hosts we could have hoped for and went out of their way to help us any way they could, even helping us get to the yurt. The wood burner made evenings feel very cosy and warm and the cabin was perfect for making sure we were properly fed and clean! We were very sad to leave as by the third day the yurt had become to feel like home, but we will definitely be back :) definitely recommend this yurt as a romantic getaway or for a small group of friends to get away, beach nearby and pubs too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northants
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I booked this as a cheaper holiday option for a family of 4. There are cooking facilities, electricity in the yurt as well as the wood burner ( used every night and morning -wonderful). The bed was so comfortable I slept better than at home. Our 2 boys age 5 & 6 loved sleeping in the yurt. Kithcen, shower room & Yurt were perefctly clean and beautifully presented. It felt very safe and I would go back with the children on my own. The beach was 5 min in the car. Supermarket 10 min by car. Fabulous Butchers (had a barbecue every night) and farm shop in walking distance.
This was great value. I compared it to the price of a caravan for a family of 4 in norfolk at the same time and it was half the price and so much more luxurious !!!!!
I would recomend this holiday without hesitation. We will be back .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had an amazing time in 'The Little Hobbit House'..........a very relaxing and stress free weekend.
The yurt was beautiful, with so many personal touches, especially the log fire!! Which created a warm and cosy ambience......... We didn't want to leave!
An ideal get away.........cannot wait to visit again :))

Dave and Donna
Manchester

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

If ever you want to get away from it all then this is the place to go, if you like camping but you also like creature comforts (bed,fire,electric) and you love nature then you have no choice but to go to the Yurt. It is surrounded by fields and wild life, and the hosts Derek and Cheryl make you very welcome, and they have ensured anything you need is on hand. We will be back with out a doubt, maybe we may try one of the barns as they look lovely also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I came with a female mate to get a way for a few days and chill out --- and boy did we do that !! First time in a Yurt and it will not be my last. I loved it. Very relaxing - This site is very clean and tidy.. quiet ( other than the noise of owls at night )
The beach at Sea Palling was very quiet with just odd people walking.. we went rock pooling on the sea defences.. Saw Seals at the next beach along ( Hornsea ?)

We had everything we needed supplied - if we needed anything more then we just had to ask.

Yurt was warm at night with the heater on the go... bed very comfortable
All in all I would defo recommend this to another and will return with my boyfriend at some point.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Walnut Yurt is a large single waterproof structure, set in a half acre of flat grassland over looking farmland. It is built on a wooden staging area and is furnished with a double bed, 2 single futons, small table with tea and coffee making facilities, radio, coat rack, wood burning fire, lamps, bedside tables, rugs, duvets and pillows. You also have the sole use of a spotless cabin, which is about 30 yards away.This has a kitchen with electric hob, microwave,plates, saucepans, cutlery etc. A toilet and v. powerful shower. There is a farm shop and a butchers both within a 10 minute walk away(both shut on Sunday). Sea Palling is a 7 mins bike ride. and has one of only 3 blue cross beaches in the country. The family friendly reef bar is next to the beach as is an ice cream shop, a couple of cafes, a souvenir shop and an amusement arcade. Dogs are allowed on the beach but only in a certain area. Horsey (seal watching) is 25 mins bike ride away, Great Yarmouth 40 mins car ride, Norfolk 50 mins( get the park & ride). The Norfolk Broads are v. close and there a number of places that you can rent day boats or canoes from.I fully recommend this site and intend to come back as soon as I can! Thank you Cheryl and Derrick for making my first Yurt experience one that I will repeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed in the Yurt for 10 days and we all had a fantastic time. The owners couldn't have made us feel more welcome and the yurt had a really cosy, homly feel with lots of little decorative touches. The kitchen has everything you would need and there was a wonderful shower! The yurt itself is in a great location just a few minutes drive from the wonderful Sea Palling beach (get there early and park in the charity run car park for only £1 instead of the more expensive council owned ones) and there are some fantastic farm shops and pubs along the road. Loads of other great family attractions such as Bewilderwood are nearby. We had an amazing holiday and the yurt in its own field was perfect for us. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walnut Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Yurt

Address: Bridge House, Sea Palling Road, Norwich NR12 0TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Norwich
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Yurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.