We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely place to stay with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thorn Barn

Old Thorn Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Thorn Barn
Save
You added Old Thorn Barn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corporation Farm, Wymondham Rd | Hethel, Norwich NR14 8EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A homely place to stay with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for the august Bank holiday weekend & really enjoyed it.
The rooms were very comfortable & Joanne & Danny were very welcoming & helpful.
Breakfast was delicious & even though the old thorn Barn doesn't serve lunch or dinner, there are many local pubs & restaurants nearby that serve up delicious home-cooked food.
We also took advantage of 1 of the Park & ride schemes in Norwich which saved time & money with parking in the town centre car-parks.We would definitely recommend staying here & would come back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend for a family wedding which was a couple of miles away. What a lovely fantastic place. We had a double room which was lovely. High ceilings, exposed beams, beautiful. The room was clean and tidy and a very high standard. Tea & Coffee facilities were in the room which was stocked up daily, also a bottle of mineral water. The ensuite was brilliant, powerful corner shower which was great. The breakfasts both mornings was lovely. Lots of choice and excellent service. We would defintely recommend staying here and would not hesitate in returning.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

One night stay here to attend a function in Ashwellthorpe: we used taxis as this is in an out-of-the way location. Our room seemed to be in a modern extension as it was quite small and boxy with a lowish ceiling. It was furnished in a dated 'country cottage' style, with the en-suite bathroom again rather dated - the built-in hairdryer was the most feeble I have encountered anywhere. However everything was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. There was a lot of choice on the menu and it was well cooked and well presented with the exception of the preserves - would it be possible to source locally made preserves rather than the individual portions beloved of the hotel trade? Overall I would stay here again but only for a short time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were met by Dennis on our arrival as the owners, Danny and Joanne, were away for the evening. We were well looked after as Dennis is a generous and friendly host. Old Thorn Barn is a fantastic guest house and we were exceptionally comfortable in room no. 1. Breakfast is first class and lasted us all day. Hethel is about 7 miles out of Norwich and is very quiet and peaceful and we would encourage everyone to use the very good park and ride system into the city. Look at the guest house web site and what you see is what you get. We thoroughly recommend staying here as the accommodation is outstandingly clean, Danny and Joanne are very helpful and friendly and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

As B & B's go this is one of the better ones. Our room was very clean and plenty of space. The owners have done a wonderful job of renovating this old property. Breakfast was outstanding and the service was excellent.
As the location is close to the Lotus car works the pictures throughout the B&B are the history of car racing and is very well done.
We would not hesitate to book here again and have no problem recommending this location to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed at the Thorn Barn in december for a week, one of the nicest b&b's i've stayed in. The room i stayed in was very nicely decorated, the bathroom was lovely and the breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and great service.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed at the Old Thorn Barn for one night with two friends, as we were just passing through Wymondham that weekend, and we were looking for somewhere not too expensive. The Old Thorn Barn, whilst having rather an "out of the way location", was a really good find. I think it had recently been renovated, as I could still smell a faint smell of paint in my room! I had booked a single room for £38 B&B, whilst my friends who were a couple had booked a double, for £58 B&B - however, I was actually given a twin room which was much larger than my friends' double!

My room was massive, decorated very tastefully, with a lovely ensuite shower room. There were some lovely little touches that made this an above average B&B - the TV had a choice of some digital channels, the bathroom was stocked with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, and there was even a much better selection of in-room drinks than usual, like Horlicks and Cappucino instant coffee!

The breakfast was also excellent - as well as cereals and yoghurt there were a number of options for cooked breakfast, and it was all very tasty. Another nice touch was that throughout the building the decor is full of references to the racing car industry, as the Lotus race track and factory are just down the road - there were lots of prints of old photos of motor races and cars from yesteryear.

Although the Old Thorn Barn is a couple of miles outside Wymondham itself and is not the easiest place to find in the dark, taxis are readily available - we took a taxi into Wymondham in the evening to find a place to eat, which cost about £6 one way.

I'd thoroughly recommend the Old Thorn Barn as somewhere to stay if you want somewhere a little bit different and quite, but with all modern comforts.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Thorn Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorn Barn

Address: Corporation Farm, Wymondham Rd | Hethel, Norwich NR14 8EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorn Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Thorn Barn offers a warm welcome, to this Seventeenth-century barn which over looks beautiful Norfolk Countryside. The barn has been carefully restored to retain all its original features. The bedrooms are all cosily furnished and have private facilities. Breakfast is served in the long barn where a wood burning stove and a lounge area combine with the dining room to form a casual and relaxing atmosphere. In the summer a stoned courtyard (off the lounge) with tables and chairs will be available for guests and friends. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thorn Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.