We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five Star bed and breakfast guest house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrandale Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arrandale Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Arrandale Lodge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   431 Earlham Road, Norwich NR4 7HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Five Star bed and breakfast guest house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We could not fault Arrandale Lodge or the service and breakfast that we were given by Maurice and Olga Connery. We were welcomed by Olga and shown to a very spacious, comfortable, en-suite bedroom complete with settee, 6' 4 poster bed and a large TV. Although on a busy road, the traffic did not disturb us at night and we slept well. The breakfast menu would suit any taste, there was plenty of it and it was well cooked. For what we got, we considered the tariff to be very reasonable and intend to return on future occasions.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    11
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
67
74
39
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed at Arrandale Lodge the night before a job interview and couldn't have asked for a better stay. The room was beautiful and the bed was so, so comfortable! The owners made me feel welcome and at home immediately. Nothing was too much trouble and I left for the interview well-rested, well-fed and smiling. I got the job and will be popping in to say thank you in person later in the year!

Room Tip: Easy bus ride to the city, close to UEA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My daughter had an interview at University of East Anglia and we stayed at the Arrandale Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised to see what a LOVELY guest house Arrandale Lodge is. The guest house has a wonderful African theme throughout. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated exceptionally clean and just the personal touches made you feel so welcome. Room had everything you need from toileteries to fresh flowers. The breakfast room was another room very tastfully decorated with beautiful pictures of wild life. The breakfast definately deserves to have an Excellence Award. There is such a variety with even South African fig jam which was scrumptious. The couple who run it are so warm, friendly and welcoming. They were very helpful with all our questions. Will we stay there again if my daughter is offered a place. YES DEFINATELY.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed at The Arrandale Lodge for only one night as I was visiting for a family gathering however I could easily have stayed for a week, The owners, Maurice and Olga Connery could not have been more welcoming and helpful as they have been both been international travellers themselves and completely understand the needs of their customers.

My room was exceptionally clean and tidy with flatscreen TV and modern fittings without feeling cold or uninviting and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

Exceptional value for money close to Norwich City Centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I cannot praise Maurice and Olga enough for providing us with a truly memorable stay for ALL the right reasons. Such a warm, friendly couple who provide the very best of everything with an extremely tasteful eye for interest and detail. We had 2 rooms and both were amazing for their cleanliness, comfort, decor and facilities. The beds were so comfortable, the rooms warm and spacious (especially the one we had with the 4-poster bed, large TV and sofa!). Everywhere was spotlessly clean but still maintained a real home from home atmosphere. The breakfast deserved its awards, there was certainly something for everyone, plenty of it and nothing was too much trouble. (The 4 of us all had something different). We will certainly be coming back as not only is our son at UEA but shopping in Norwich is wonderful too. I know we couldn't find anywhere better than Arrandale to stay. Thank you Maurice and Olga.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

A great B & B, perfect for visitors to UEA, John Innes, etc. My room was spotlessly clean, had nice contemporary decor and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great; well-stocked self-service cereal/fruit/yoghurt/juice followed by hot breakfast - and they cooked my bacon juuuust right. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My partner was taken into hospital while we were on holiday, I stayed here when he was transferred to the local hospital.
I could not fault the place or the owners it was spotless, friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you again,

Betty

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrandale Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Lodge Guest House

Address: 431 Earlham Road, Norwich NR4 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrandale Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you on arrival. From the moment you check-in to the time you check-out you will be looked after by us personally. Excellent hospitality and convenience whether you are visiting Norwich for business or pleasure. A variety of rooms available to suit your individual needs. All rooms in our guest house are warm, comfortable and clean and are furnished to a high standard and all feature new modern en-suites. Free 3-4 GB Fast Wireless broadband Internet facilities in all rooms Ample car parking on our premises. We are situated within walking distance of the University of East Anglia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arrandale Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrandale Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.