We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely Norwich's #1 cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No.33 Cafe Bar

No.33 Cafe Bar
33 Exchange Street, Norwich NR2 1DP, England
01603 626097
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 667 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: No 33 is a small independent cafe located in the heart of Norwich on Exchange Street. We serve great coffee, hearty breakfasts, freshly prepared lunches and delicious homemade cakes in a relaxed and friendly environment.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surely Norwich's #1 cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I really rate this place. The portions are large enough to keep you going all day. I have been a few times now and tried different dishes, none of which disappoint . The hot drink and massive cake of your choice for £3.50 is a bargain and I don't really like cakes but they are so much better than a chains would be. Staff seem happy so that also tells a story.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    62
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good range for vegetarians, staff always chatty and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I Always enjoy coming here for lunch. very nice food and good range for vegetarians. Staff always chatty and friendly. I don't rate the cakes personally, they are usually very dry for my liking! BUT - that could be because i usually get there around the 3ish mark when the cakes have been out for some time. (if i go before its simply to busy to get a seat) The only downside of this place (other than the cost) is the heat. in summer it gets extremely warm with the glass front and the open kitchen at the back. Wherever you sit, you feel rather too hot so i recommend to get a there food as a takeaway and sit near the river.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A bustling cafe for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A bustling cafe for a reason. Food and service first class. Not overpriced with terrific coffee. Ideal to recharge the batteries when shopping

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best cakes IN THE COUNTRY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hard to get a table in here; the last few times I have been, I have had to resort to joining the queue for take-away cake, as there are never any tables free!
I have had lunch here - a plate of very good pasta and salmon in a creamy sauce, which was extremely delicious. I have recommended this place to loads of friends who have sampled their lunch menu and really enjoyed everything they've had. But this tiny cafe has a reputation for it's cakes above all else. They are absolutely wonderful! There is always a huge selection - I think about 12 different types on offer each day. And these are proper, huge sandwich or loaf cakes, not namby-pamby cupcakes (that are all icing and no flavour). Each cake is home-made, and each portion is huge. They have gluten-free options, and there are the usual favourites:Victoria sandwich and chocolate cake, and so on. But there are also more unusual ones, such as their Bakewell cake, and, if I remember rightly, hazelnut and courgette....? You can buy a hot drink and huge slab of the best cake you've ever had for just £3.50, and the waiting staff, although always busy, are very happy to patiently explain each cake to you (it's SO hard to choose!). Having had several discussions with my friends about the cakes here, we've decided that it would be great if you could buy a cake tasting-platter, so you could try several at once! It really is an absolute gem, and I spend most of the week hankering after my Saturday cake fix! The decor is relaxing and they have an upstairs seating area for the busy times. Whoever is in charge of baking the cakes here is a star, and what with the quality (and generous portion size!) of the food, the friendly, helpful staff, and the relaxed atmosphere, I hope this fabulous little cafe goes from strength to strength.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This little gem serves up some of the best cake and tea in Norwich! I am always extremely disappointed when it is closed. Lovely staff, beautiful cake and all very good value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.33 Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to No.33 Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.33 Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.