We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good range for vegetarians, staff always chatty and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No.33 Cafe Bar

No.33 Cafe Bar
33 Exchange Street, Norwich NR2 1DP, England
01603 626097
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 643 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: No 33 is a small independent cafe located in the heart of Norwich on Exchange Street. We serve great coffee, hearty breakfasts, freshly prepared lunches and delicious homemade cakes in a relaxed and friendly environment.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good range for vegetarians, staff always chatty and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I Always enjoy coming here for lunch. very nice food and good range for vegetarians. Staff always chatty and friendly. I don't rate the cakes personally, they are usually very dry for my liking! BUT - that could be because i usually get there around the 3ish mark when the cakes have been out for some time. (if i go before its simply to busy to get a seat) The only downside of this place (other than the cost) is the heat. in summer it gets extremely warm with the glass front and the open kitchen at the back. Wherever you sit, you feel rather too hot so i recommend to get a there food as a takeaway and sit near the river.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    48
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bustling cafe for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A bustling cafe for a reason. Food and service first class. Not overpriced with terrific coffee. Ideal to recharge the batteries when shopping

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best cakes IN THE COUNTRY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hard to get a table in here; the last few times I have been, I have had to resort to joining the queue for take-away cake, as there are never any tables free!
I have had lunch here - a plate of very good pasta and salmon in a creamy sauce, which was extremely delicious. I have recommended this place to loads of friends who have sampled their lunch menu and really enjoyed everything they've had. But this tiny cafe has a reputation for it's cakes above all else. They are absolutely wonderful! There is always a huge selection - I think about 12 different types on offer each day. And these are proper, huge sandwich or loaf cakes, not namby-pamby cupcakes (that are all icing and no flavour). Each cake is home-made, and each portion is huge. They have gluten-free options, and there are the usual favourites:Victoria sandwich and chocolate cake, and so on. But there are also more unusual ones, such as their Bakewell cake, and, if I remember rightly, hazelnut and courgette....? You can buy a hot drink and huge slab of the best cake you've ever had for just £3.50, and the waiting staff, although always busy, are very happy to patiently explain each cake to you (it's SO hard to choose!). Having had several discussions with my friends about the cakes here, we've decided that it would be great if you could buy a cake tasting-platter, so you could try several at once! It really is an absolute gem, and I spend most of the week hankering after my Saturday cake fix! The decor is relaxing and they have an upstairs seating area for the busy times. Whoever is in charge of baking the cakes here is a star, and what with the quality (and generous portion size!) of the food, the friendly, helpful staff, and the relaxed atmosphere, I hope this fabulous little cafe goes from strength to strength.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This little gem serves up some of the best cake and tea in Norwich! I am always extremely disappointed when it is closed. Lovely staff, beautiful cake and all very good value for money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate here for lunch on a busy Saturday. We had a brief wait (10 minutes) and were seated on a table near the service bar. Drinks were served quickly and our order taken promptly. The service was excellent. The club sandwich was huge and my wife loved it. The breads were gorgeous as was the humous and the olive oil with balsamic vinegar. The special was a garlic mushroom and goats cheese salad with sun blush tomatoes and rocket salad. This was really lovely. The mushrooms ( and there were loads) were served whole, with melted goats cheese and onions. The flavours were simply wonderful.
It is remarkable how well this place does in every respect, every time. From the lovely service which is pitched just right, to the atmosphere and the food. Those who complain about the wait should stay and enjoy the food and then they will know why they have to wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.33 Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to No.33 Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.33 Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.