We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very mixed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unthank Arms Bar & Restaurant

Unthank Arms Bar & Restaurant
149 Newmarket Street, Norwich NR2 2DR, England
+44 (0)1603 631557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 666 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $10 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A lively pub, wih a warm, relaxed atmosphere, excellent dining and a varied, extensive wine list, all sold by the glass!Fab garden and courtyard. Perfect for weddings, parties and BBQ's!
Norwich, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A very mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

On the basis of other reviews, we were looking forward to a really good evening out. However, on arrival at 7.00pm we were told that three dishes were not available. Two of us therefore chose pheasant, only to be told that this also was unavailable, and duck was offered and accepted as a substitute. Sadly, the duck was tough to the point of being inedible. The waitress spotted the problem and arranged for a fresh meal but, unhappily, this second meal was undercooked and still tough. The other two meals - belly of pork and sausage and mash - were fine.
We accepted another bottle of wine as an apology but only one dessert was ordered, panacotta, and it was disappointingly solid and, therefore, abandoned. So, a bill for £100 for such an indifferent experience was not welcome. We will not be returning as there are many other places to eat in this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been here twice now this year for meals and each one was excellent. The menu changes daily and there is a great range of variety and for all budgets, which adds to the appeal. Having lived in Norwich for 20 years it is really pleasing to see the traditional character of the pub remain unchanged and the layout provides a good mix for eating and drinking. Look forward to returning again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The complexity of the ingredients on their menu always fascinates me, the choice of courses is fantastic. I have eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. A good wine menu and well kept beer. It is a very traditional pub with bare wooden floors and I love it all the more for it. Up there wilth the other gastro pubs, not so pretty to look at if decor is your thing, but you are going for the food

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Took all our hardworking staff from Blue Boar Inn and Lord Rosebery for our staff party. Great night was had by all. Food and service just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tasty and welcoming neighbourhood pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wide range of dishes, seasonal menu with high quality ingredients, lots of veggie stuff, child-friendly but plenty of different rooms and nooks and crannies (so those who don't have kids can have peace), roaring fires in winter, good garden with a boat to play in in summer, lovely wines by the glass and decent ale selection. Can't believe we have this on our doorstep!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unthank Arms Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Unthank Arms Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unthank Arms Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.