We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely family night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
2 Southfield Road, Middlesbrough TS1 3BZ, England
+44 1642 242191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 209 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Al Forno Italian Restaurant is a fantastic place to meet and eat. Choose from a range of superb, fresh Italian food, beautiful wine and excellent service. Pop in for a cappuccino or a glass of wine, tuck into a fresh summer salad, grab a sandwich or sit down to a hearty home cooked Italian dinner cooked by one of our award winning chefs. We're open from 10am-10pm Monday to Thursday, Friday & Saturday 10am-10:30pm and Sunday from 11am-8pm (last orders). As well as our a la carte menu, a happy hour menu is available so please take a look at our special offers. Our private dining area offers a great place to relax and unwind or as an alternative, informal setting for a business or lunch meeting. We have FREE wireless internet available throughout the restaurant and can also provide digital projection, DVD & TV facilities on request.
middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“lovely family night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

went to al forno saturday night for our 2 kids birthdays , hadnt been for a bit cause the service wasent brilliant ,also prefering capaldis wich is now closed ,so we gave it a go, glad we did ,we had a lovely time . Nice welcome good busy atmosphere .we had a good laugh with the waiter who took our order [no squid] its a change these days to have a laugh with some staff .The food was excellent ,seafood spot on ,chiken dishes yummy .With starters mains ,2 bottles of wine beers, spirits ,coffees bill came to £124 wich was excellent for 6 adults , we will defo be returning ,thanks al forno .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    66
    22
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service but a bit cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice meal here , was full in restaurant sat night , a bit to cramped and overlooked for me , was a bit pricey for parmo and for certain meals but cooked fine , service fine but a bit too quick as soon as sat down within a minute was asked if I wanted any drinks ? Probably go back later

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We were warmly greeted and taken to our table. A very friendly welcome. The dining set up is well thought out. An extensive food and drink menu afforded me a problem - I liked everything on offer! We settled for a Bruschetta Pomodoro - absolutely delicious - to start with, accompanied by home made bread and a superb wine to go with it. For mains, we went for the Sirlion Steak with mushroom and diane sauce - again absolutely delicious. Lunch was rounded off with a devine sticky toffee pudding which was perfect. Despite the restaurant being very busy, the service was efficient, friendly and very helpful. This was an excellent dining experience and made our visit to Middlesbrough one to remember. We shall return! Many thanks to all the staff who made our visit very special.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“quality food at right price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we ate there on a sunday afternoon. The restaurante was quiet but filled up as we were leaving.we both chose from the happy hour menu,The wife having soup for starters and myself having pate stuffed mushrooms,both were generous portions and very nice, for the mains I choose teessides favorit.e parmo and the wife had a butterfly chicken with garlic and rosemerry.the wife really enjoyed hers . And my parmo was one of the best chicken parmos I have tasted . compliments to the chef and staff I will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Al Forno Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good food and good service. It was last year but I can't imagine it would have changed too much since my last visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Darlington, County Durham
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.