We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bbar

Bbar
43 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PP, England (Westminster)
+44 20 7958 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #528 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $49 - $79
Cuisines: African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Based upon the Trip Advisor rating for eating nearby (staying at The Rubens at the Palace), my wife and I decided to try Bbar, which is literally next door. We certainly were not disappointed. Everything--food, service, value--was excellent. Some of the best sea bass, creamed spinach, red cabbage and apple, and brandy bread pudding we've ever had. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    149
    28
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Courtesy and Service combined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Imagine going to a moderately-priced restaurant in downtown London and getting superstar service! That's what we got at BBar. The South African food is excellent and not fancy, but the service was terrific! The waiter recommended two excellent wines, then happily offered to open a bottle of each just so we could try them! A place where the staff really care about making the customer happy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Going to the restaurant for dinner, first time in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are just arrived in London, late afternoon, after a long time spent on plane and airport and bus and so on .... where can we rest and have a great dinner? Close to the Victoria station, where we also have the hotel, we find this restaurant. It looks full but they find us a free table. Marika , very friendly, help us to find the right food to eat. The restaurant is elegant but not so much, so you feel confortable. The food is great and good.
We have spent lovely time here and we suggest you all to go there and have a great dinner (also for lunch time, why not?)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Trendy and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a light meal from our hotel next door, and were happy we did. Very friendly staff, we got a nice table, even though it was busy. The food was good and the atmosphere was lively. Would come again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a fun bar/restaurant. Monica, who was our server 3 of the 4 times we ate there, was very friendly and talkative. A very nice atmosphere, good background music, comfortable seating. The food was good, and you can't beat the location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bbar also viewed

 

Been to Bbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.