We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and location at reasonable prices:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bizarro

Bizarro
Paddington | 18-22 Craven Road, Paddington, London, London W2 3PX, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
(020)-7723-6029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,190 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Description: If you are looking for the most authentic Italian restaurant, then look no further than Bizzarro! Established in 1957, this restaurant has offered the true tasted of Italian cuisine to its valued customers ever since. Bizzarro invites you to relax and dine in an Italian style. Bizzarro offers Italian dishes of the highest quality, with substantial portions served at affordable prices. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambience and unparalleled service, this genuine Italian dining experience has been appreciated by its visitors for many years. Seize the opportunity and enjoy authentic Italian food at Bizzarro!
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good food and location at reasonable prices:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose to eat here after reading positive reviews on tripadvisor, and because it was near Paddington Rail Station (a main commuter transfer point for us i.e.Windsor Castle. It did not dissappoint. The service was very efficicient and the food good home made Italian and reasonably priced.
The only caution would be that if you do not want bread, say so before they bring it to you, as it's a separate charge. The same goes for water. If you only want tap you must be explicit and say so, or they will bring you bottled water. Of course it's a few dollars and I suspect that their reasonable menu prices are subsidized by what I saw to be most patrons with a bottle of water on the table (they were mostly North Americans, not Europeans who are the ones who tend to favor the bottle mineral water. Two different waiters tried bringing us bottle water before we finally got tap water on the third request. These last 2 issues while not significant in pounds/dollars do add up when you're in Europe for a few weeks. Variations of this scenario happened several times during our month long trip. Some restaurant flat out refuse to bring you tap water !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Only if you like Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our hotel desk recommended Bizarro. We were immediately greeted upon entry by the host (owner?) and the service from then on was great. They have an extensive menu and the house chianti was a good choice. This is what Italian dining is supposed to be like. I thought I was transported to Italy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good value at neighborhood Italian restaurant.

Pastas are moderately priced and flavorful. Fish dishes were well prepared and moist.

Nice wine list also moderately priced.

Worth a try.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Molto bene!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were tired after a long day in London and decided to try to eat near our hotel close to Paddington Station. This reataurant looked busy and the customers seemed happy so we decided to try it. A genuine Italian signor welcomed us at the door, and beckoned to a colleague who had us seated at a table for two with menus in our hands in minutes. All the staff were smiling, moving around swiftly and efficiently and seemed happily immersed in keeping customers well served. The table was laid with a fresh cloth and sparkling cutlery and glasses. The menu folder was fresh and clean and there was a wide range of authentic italian dishes to choose from. We opted for pasta dishes followed by dessert and were very pleased with the speed and efficiency of the service, and the attentiveness of our waiter. Our food was delicious and I enjoyed studying the dessert cabinet in anticipation of a fitting second course. It had to be tiramisu and was as authentic as I've ever tasted. Gorgeous. While we were eating we observed friendly interaction between diners and staff and noticed that some of the diners were italian. Well, if they liked it, that seemed like an extra recommendation. Two cappuccinos were ordered to round off the meal and we imagined ourselves in some italian piazza watching the world go by. The bill was reasonable for the standard and I have taken a note of the name so we can go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Very good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My partner and I went here and would definitely recommend, it's a family owned restaurant and the staff are very friendly.... The prices are decent, very good portion sizes and quick service... it's a very casual restaurant

To start we had some mozzarella pizza which was really nice.

I had the vegetarian lasagne which was nice, however too much sauce and cheese and not enough vegetables for my liking. Very tasty though. My partner had a pizza which was delicious and big!! I had a glass of wine and my partner had a beer and our totally bill was 27 pounds, we were VERY happy with this restaurant and would highly recommend!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bizarro also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bizarro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bizarro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.