We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but food not fantastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Forno - Wimbledon

Al Forno - Wimbledon
2a King's Road, Wimbledon, London SW19 8QN, England
+44 (0)20 8540 5710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,564 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice staff but food not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went here for Mother's Day. The place was crowded, as to be expected, but the music was very loud and it was hard to have a conversation. The music was eventually turned down slightly, which helped. Pasta and meat dishes that were ordered were average at best and the cost, while not wildly expensive, could've been a bit lower to reflect the food quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    48
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Management, noisy, rude staff and not Italian at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I decided to go to Al Forno in Wimbledon after reading very nice reviews about it. I was expecting a family restaurant, with not expensive food and nice staff.
As soon we arrived the upper floor was not accessible even though some table were already occupied by guests like us (no private parties).
A very rude waiter gave us a table and after 20 minutes he took our orders.
I checked the Menu and food was too expensive! Not really a "family" restaurant with good prices. It's just another fake Italian restaurant with an overpriced and not Italian Menu.
I ordered a Medium pizza since another waiter came to our table (to order..again!) and showed us a wrong size of the pizza offered.
That was huge! That's the only good thing about the food ( size matters).
Pizza was not that good, I ate better quality pizzas in other Neapolitan Pizzerias. Real one.
Only one blonde waitress and an Italian waiter were really nice with us.
As soon as we finished we waited for 25 minutes before seeing any bill. Every single waiter was coming to our table to ask us if we wanted the bill.
My boyfriend had to get up and talk to the Manager and he found that he was in charge for every single bill! He had to manage the whole staff and handwrite the bills!!
Seriously?
They explained it's an old fashioned Restaurant, in the Italian style.
Noway! In Italy the Manager manages the staff, there's always a cashier!
Also the music was loud and latino, the staff was wearing mexican hats and the whole design looked like a gigantic qlique'!! It's like a Pulcinella with mandolino and spaghetti in his hands, puked "fiaschette" of wine, tomatoes and garlic all over the walls!
What a mess that place!
Please do not waste your money there.
Try to ask to some Italian friend where to find a better place and trust me...you can learn how to cook those dishes at home, saving money and time and energies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My whole family love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Friendly, fast service perfect for eating out with children. Reassuringly busy. Food is very good and portions are large so it is good value. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seegage
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

First visit with friends and were warmly greeted on a busy saturday night ( booked on second sitting). Place very busy but we were still well looked after, the food turned up on time and was tasty, so no complaints. Pretty noisy but probably quieter in the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Evening at a fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant is a must! Me and my girlfriend decided to try this restaurant for our anniversary meal. We both agreed that it was perfect. We shared a garlic bread to start and it was the size of a pizza but the taste was incredible. My girlfriend had a Margarita pizza and i had a calzone and we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Overall the service was fantastic the restaurant was excellently located and had a perfect Italian look to it as well. Definitely worth a try! One tip, book in advance as it gets very busy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno - Wimbledon also viewed

London, England
Morden, Greater London
 

Been to Al Forno - Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Forno - Wimbledon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.