We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden - CLOSED

PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden
30 Wellington Street | Covent Garden, London WC2E 7BD, England (Covent Garden)
(020)-7240-7529
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the best service I have experienced in years. The staff were friendly and attentive. Food was amazing. A very enjoyable atmosphere. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    105
    38
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent,uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value in the West End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I called into PJ's late Saturday afternoon, without pre-booking, prior to attending a great show in the evening at the Sadlers Wells, Peacock Theatre.
We were very fortunate to get a table, as nearly all tables had been pre-booked. The food was excellent and great value. The service was friendly and efficient and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere.
We visited the restaurant a few times some years ago and were pleased to see that the quality and value remains. We will certainly visit again and are happy to recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sunday lunch on a cold January afternoon. Warm welcome, good food, good value. Whats more to say. It gets busy so book if you don't want to take a chance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This review could be a little harsh considering we went just before Xmas (and they were bound to be busy!) but have to say...was pretty unimpressed with the dining experience at PJ's. First arrived, restaurant was packed and extremely noisy. Was seated and then made to move.... (I don't know why) my boyfriend and I were sat close to the bar and the noise was unbelievable- think the bar maid smashed around 10 china cups. Tables had paper table cloths (seriously?!) lighting too bright and the food was just OK.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good atmosphere, decent price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

went here for someone's birthday and it was good value and pretty tasty! The staff were welcoming and we had a lovely time :-)
Especially gr8 value is the theatre menu.
This is the place to get a decent stake.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ's Bar & Grill - Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.