We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Indian

Simply Indian
25 Tabard Street, London SE1 4LA, England (London Bridge)
+44 20 7407 5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,110 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: London Bridge
Description: A South Indian restaurant with bring your own wine and beer. Open for lunch with Thali (platter meals)and dinner at the restaurant + delivery available. Booking in advance is advisable.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food and service are perfect. We had delicious Indian food. We knew it was BYOB but settled for what they had. I am looking foward to going back and taking more people and a bottle! Nice restaurant, very clean throughout (including toilet!), great hospitality and pretty much faultless except ....

The front door must have been opened around 15 times during our meal for people delivering boxes of (presumably) bottles of non-alcoholic beer. In and out and the cold evening air blowing in. The waiters did try to minimise this, but it seemed odd to me that at the beginning of an evening's service, they were allowing 5 delivery men to come in and out, one box at a time. It just made a really nice experience less than it should be. I hope the owners read this and think about changing delivery times of goods.

Other than that, very nice and to be repeated as many times as we can manage. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    50
    11
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful Indian tucked away in Borough. The food is light, inventive and exceptionally tasty. It is a BYO, so makes the meal very reasonable. The restaurant is small, so do make sure you book beforehand as there is usually a queue or a big party.

The only negative is that the delivery doesn't seem to live up to the same exceptionally high standard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The definition of a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When my American partner lived in Borough I was desperate to introduce her to Indian food and having taken a short cut down Tabard street we ran into Simply Indian.

We read the menu and decided to take a chance on it.

Honestly this restaurant is the definition of a hidden gem. It is very small, bring your own beer, out of the way and doesn't stand out that much but inside it is nothing but quality.

The food is presented beautifully and truly authentic. Despite this the prices are incredibly competitive and dare I say it even cheap! Especially considering you can bring your own alcohol that they will put in the fridge for you and serve it to you as if you paid for it.

The staff are great and due to the compact nature of the restaurant and the nice background music it has a fantastic atmosphere.

If you like Indian food you have to try this place and see what you think. I recommend the Jalfrezi with coconut rice. Stunning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply the the best- Above average- putting art back into Indian cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

For over 7 years I have been a regular customer of Simply Indian. Aboo the owner is hands on from a warm welcome to food recipe reasearching and delicious delivery.All local and international freinds and family I have introduced to Simply Indian have all been impressed with the fresh ingredientls prepared into wholesome and flavoursome and filling contemporary meals. Awesomely modest prices too.
Clean fresh linen table cloths with linen napkin for every sitting accompanied by a warmed plate, sparkling cutlery and glassware. Salads and soups are nothing short of true indian artestry. So are the teas and sweets. Naan breads like no other. All modestly served. Highly reccomended. Food of a good standard, with freshness and vitality Take aways are boxed in mobile warmers! Simply Indian to the top of the list please. One of the best in London ...Nazeem x

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best indian in london”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Great prices.Enough said. But I have to write 100 characters so I'll continue. Venue isnt incredible but not bad either. A curry house is about a beaut curry in your mouth and nothing else.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Indian also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Simply Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.