We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was fine, so was the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lahore One Restaurant

Lahore One Restaurant
218 Commercial Rd, London E1 2JT, England (Formerly lahore) (Whitechapel)
02077910112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,521 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service was fine, so was the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The previous reviewer, who complained about bad service, either went on a bad day (all restaurants have them) or just likes to complain. We found the staff attentive and polite, I will be returning

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    5
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“terrible service - resting on laurels?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Shown to table by disgruntled staff. Dirty table. Waited for 20 minutes for someone to notice me. Waited 10 more minutes. Left.
Shame as food looks delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,453 reviews 1,453 reviews
797 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
4,091 helpful votes 4,091 helpful votes
“What a curry house!! Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After reading the great reviews on TA & having mixed quality of both hotel & restaurants on this visit to London, I thought I'd give this place a go.
Simple, basic, but very clean little restaurant in Whitechapel, serving authentic & truly delicious Pakistani food.
Poppadoms, dips, vegetable biryani, saag lamb, chicken Karai, two naan & soft drinks for £25. The whole lot was excellent.
Owner even gave me a restaurant t shirt. Can't complain at that. Great find!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Go on - its worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have now been to this restaurant 3 or 4 times... & loved it every time. Looks a little daunting from the outside, but it is always busy, with a great atmosphere - a mix of westerners and more asian people. Unlicensed, but an adequate off licence opposite (& no corkage fee!). Started with most wonderful spicy lamb chops (one portion between two is fine) & Masala Fish (again one between two). For mains I had the special lamb shank which was good (but not the best); Butter Chicken (which was the best), the Biryani (which was huge); one I forget; one pilau rice & a (fantastic) peshwawi naan. We love this place - most meals you won't recognise, but wow - truly authentic & fab. They will also make any dish more or less spicy on request.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The service was not that great but thats normal. The food was ab fab. I could not stop eating it was just amazing. I would reccomend this to anyone. dont expect first class servce..great food

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahore One Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Lahore One Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahore One Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.