We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unusual but Brilliant Wine Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon's Wine Bar

Gordon's Wine Bar
47 Villiers Street, London WC2N 6NE, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)
44 (0)20 7930 1408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Welshman In England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An Unusual but Brilliant Wine Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This somewhat old and dusty wine bar with it' s crowded cave like cellar is simply a great place to stop off at for a good selection of wine at reasonable prices and any other food apart, great cheeses.
For both business and pleasure I use this wine bar for a cheese course. To explain, if I have had lunch with friends or business associates and time permits we go there for out last food course of cheese and a good bottle of wine.Now the outside seating area, much expanded, is great even on a very cold dry day as every table has overhead heating under the canopies.
Not much more to say really,yes it does get crowded, yes the cellar can be noisy, but that is the fun of it or at least part of it. You can always take food and wine to their outside area. Just different but brilliant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    229
    28
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Candlelit cave with rumble of trains above amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Loved this place ... Sat on large table in the cage in the cave shared with couples on first dates ( nice and dark so perfect) I was with 3 friends on our annual pre Xmas do plenty wine chat candlelight what more can I say .... A must!!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gordon's hit the spot again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I emplore you to vist this great wine bar, but please do not tell too many people, I want to be able to get a seat, the wine chosen this time was unfortunately sold out, but the excellent barman gave us 4 wines to taste and the one we chose was actually cheaper than our original choice. We sat in the "cave" area as the weather wasn't too good outside and had an excellent cheese and Pate lunch. Less than £36.00 for lunch for two, including a bottle of wine. Brilliant.
Only down side was the Mature Cheddar was a little disappointing, the other two cheeses were excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A dark, crowded, dingy, damp cellar, poorly lit with candles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was my first visit to this place - it is a dark, crowded, dingy, damp cellar, poorly lit with candles in old bottles on the tables; all of the tables and chairs seem to have been chosen because they don't match - and it is probably the best wine bar in London - it is superb! A great selection of wines, also cheeses and tapas. Very friendly helpful staff. A place for intimate encounters and huddled conversations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unchangingly great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times and it really is one of the loveliest bars in London.
Easily missable from the street but the buzz from Watergate Walk draws you in. Small, dark with terrifyingly steep stairs, it's got a fabulous and authentically old interior! Serving a great choice of wines, delicious bar food & amazing cheeses, this place is always great for a few drinks with friends.
Don't miss out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon's Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gordon's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon's Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.