We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place for a Pint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pontefract Castle

Pontefract Castle
71 Wigmore Street | W1U 1QA, London, England (Marylebone)
020 7935 8034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,352 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: You will find The Pontefract Castle in Wigmore Street London within a short stroll of St Christophers Place, The West End and Oxford Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Pontefract Castle is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A Place for a Pint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were wandering around Marylebone waiting for a friend to get out of work, and decided it was a great time for a beer. We only needed two pints of beer, and Pontefract Castle had exactly what we needed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    32
    5
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude staff that don't know what a Sunday Roast is!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Asked or a Sunday roast on Sunday and was asked by waitress 'what' with such expression I may as well have asked for an outerspace lunch! The waitress went off to 'find out', there was hysterical laughing, a menu was the given to me, I declined and began to leave which prompted further hysteria. Avoid this 'traditional British boozer'!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

OH DEAR!! Please do yourself a favour and avoid this place! The manager keeps responding to other negative reviews with a statement about its now under new management etc! Well here is some advice, sack your chef! The Nachos came without salsa and we had to explain what Salsa was before we got some! The chicken wings were dry and no blue cheese dressing served as mentioned on menu because there wasn't any!! I had gammon and eggs which was JUST passable. My son had the classic burger which turned up not just burnt but cremated! We touched the burnt bits and they snapped off and turned to ash (no joke!)! The overall experience was awful!! The young waiter doing all the running was the only positive!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited this pub 4 years ago and had been looking forward to going back ever since. We did so last weekend, and, I'm sorry to say, will never return. We ordered pies, like the previous time, but the quality this time was disgraceful ! The chicken pie had very little meat, and my beef pie seemed to be made of the pieces you usually keep for dog food, or all the leftover pieces people had cut off the steaks, I don't know, but there wasn't a single piece of normal, decent beef in the whole pie... The location is great, the pub is very nice, but the food is just terrible. I don't know if the cook has changed or if they are trying to save on the quality (and quantity) of the meat, but it's definitely not worth the price. Avoid it, as I will next time I'm in London

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A little gem worth tracking down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We happened across this place by accident intending to just have a drink and a break from trekking around London - decided to order a few bar 'snacks' to fill a gap until the evening however when the variety of food arrived we we pleasantly surprised at the size and taste of each of the homemade items.
Definitely go back again ( providing we can find the place)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontefract Castle also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Pontefract Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontefract Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.