We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Delight in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaya

Amaya
Halkin Arcade | Motcomb Street, Belgravia, London SW1X 8JT, England (Victoria)
+44 20 7823 1166
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,236 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $54 - $117
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Victoria
Description: Amaya is the sister fine dining restaurant of Chutney Mary and Veeraswamy. It focuses uniquely on sophisticated Indian grills, seasoned with subtle complex marinades. These are cooked in full view in a theatrical restaurant show kitchen It is a casual and joyous restaurant where people can relax and eat with their fingers if they wish. The real Indian food is designed to be shared and is served as it is prepared. There are no conventional first courses or main courses.Amaya achieved the rare distinction of winning the two most prestigious restaurant awards in the UK in the same year - The Tio Pepe ITV Awards for Best Restaurant as well as the Best New Restaurant. This is the first time either award has been awarded to a restaurant serving non - European food, let alone an Indian restaurant.In 2006, it also became one the very few Indian restaurants to be awarded a Star in any Michelin Red Guide.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Indian Delight in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great dinner at Amaya on the last day of the year of 2012. It was an excellent mix of different flavors and it is a wise choice to sample a variety of different dishes. We actually ordered and shared 8 different dishes and enjoyed the meal immensely. The best dish was a mix of scallops, shrimps and oysters, the less appealing a lobster plate.
Joana and Bruno were always attentive and providing great service.
We did not enjoy the first table offered, too close to the grill, but that was immediately solved with a smile and change to a different table.
It was an excellent way of entering the new year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    137
    79
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I took my husband to Amaya as a birthday treat as he loves both Chutney Mary and Veeraswamy. First impressions were great and we had some very good cocktails at the bar. Then we were shown to our table. So far so good.
We ordered the tasting winter menu with matching wines. Each dish was lovely, but the flow of the tasting menu did not really work, and to make matters worse, one of the courses was missed off - the seabass which I was particularly looking forward to. The manager was very apologetic and took the cocktails off our bill, but the whole experience was just a bit average.
She service is not up to par with other restaurants of similar standards (same cutlery and plates throughout, no explanation of what the dishes were unless you asked). Amaya is trying to be a Michelin star restaurant with prices to match but it just did not deliver for me. Such a shame as I really wanted to like it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well constructed Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food at Amaya is very tasty especially the fish dishes, delicately flavored and cooked to perfection. All in all I would say it is a little too pricey for what you get though. The service was good but I had to flag a waitress to get my water glass to be refilled 3 times.
They have the policy that the dishes come out when they are ready in no particular order which they warn you about when ordering. This is highly strange though when you are sitting with 2 succulent pieces of monkfish on the table and nothing to accompany then and then when we finished everything and ready to ask for the check a steaming bowl of brussels sprouts arrived!

I would go back but I would question the real time of each dish arriving when ordering them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food but a little over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

It was certainly interesting experience to dine in a high end Indian restaurant in London. Some Indian friends suggested we try a few since London has the best Indian food.

We tried the £85 tasting menu per person since restaurant request every guest order the same tasting menu for the whole table.

Salad was red cabbage with goat cheese. Western style. Good.

Seafood plate came with scallop in green curry, Very subtle and balanced. Prawn was a bit dry, good seasoning though. Fried oyster was in coconut source, creamy and tender. My husband finished the source with plain nann.

Only half lobster for two was served, good but not memorable.

Chicken dish with rice was kinda of sweet.

Deserts were super. We are slobbering just talking about the rose creme brûlée and chocolate cube.

Sorry, I can not recall the other dishes any more if there was any.

Bill was totaled around £200 for two with a beer, juice and water. Interesting but probably a little bit too pricy for what you get.




Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food was terrible and very overpriced! Had to get food on the way home. What a waste of £300! Even after telling the waiter we weren't happy, not sure they cared!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaya also viewed

 

Been to Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.