We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think before booking.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-18 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3HU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #725 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Think before booking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My girlfriend booked the Hyde Park Executive Apartments on the basis that her university friends, who she was meeting up with, all booked the same place. Turns out they didn't book here & after two nights, I can understand why.

Firstly, credit where it's due. The room was very clean and the hotel itself is in a great central location with two tube stations very nearby and a plethora of restaurants, pubs, shops etc, minutes away.

However...

The club room was very small, contrary to what the pictures gave the impression of on the website. As an 'executive apartment' I assumed it would be larger, but it was more like a studio flat, which was disappointing.

The hotel generally was very hot and needed more ventilation (the corridors in particular were very stuffy and uncomfortable) therefore the room would almost permanently need the window open, which cures the stuffy/heating problem, but then leaves you at the mercy of the traffic and general noise outside, which at night would not impress light sleepers.

Wifi was none existent, unless you sat in reception, and even then it was hit and miss.

Reception charged us £5 to store our luggage after checking out. A charge I have never incurred at any hotel I've ever stayed at, ever, even budget ones. Considering how much we paid for the two nights, I thought this was just something to squeeze a little extra cash from you. Profit seems to come before customer service.

Generally, it was OK, but I wouldn't stay again unless I paid half the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    236
    199
    114
    115
See reviews for
82
394
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have to admit that I was really nervous when I decided to use this place as a base in London. (We had to go to Cambridge for a few days, then Scotland for another few so it was back and forth to this place in a span of 2 weeks.) The reviews I read were mixed between really happy people and really unhappy ones. I'm inclinded to say it's not that bad if you know beforehand what you'll get yourself into.
First of all, the Club rooms are exactly what their advertising pictures look. Note that I said 'Club rooms' not medium luxury rooms. Since we booked 2 rooms each time and came back twice, we had experience with 4 of these.
They're all on the second floor. The rooms in the front (with view of Inverness Terrace) are hot in the afternoon, tend to be noisier and a little smaller than the rooms in the back e.g. they only have one arm chair instead of 2 and no long mirror on the wall.
The decor nice enough and clean. Hot water works fine. The double beds are small -so unless you really don't mind sharing, it will be one of your complaints. Single occupant will be more than okay here.
The appliances provided are not standard in every room. For example, of the 4 rooms we were in, some had a toaster, others not. Same goes as iron, kitchen knives, etc. In one of the rooms there were dishwashing liquid & brush which I assumed were left behind by one of the tenants.
The Club rooms were supposed to get free Wifi, however, this didn't always work. On the first day it worked well all day. On others, we had to go outside the room to get the signal.
If you arrived before check in time, they will store your luggage in a stairwell (which I believe is locked) but there's no system to check when you retrieve your luggage whether they're really yours or not. You're on your own here. They don't store the luggage overnight for you which proved to be a problem for us who had to take all our bags with every time we go to other places for a few days. Their claim is that the luggage room is not locked and there's no one to watch it during the night when staff are not there. So I'm not sure why they bothered to advertise on their website about charging 'a small fee' for baggage storage.
Most of the staff are indifferent. They're not rude but they will only do the minimal and not go further to please you. Well, it's not a hotel after all.
Best thing about this place is the location. It's a few steps away from Kensignton garden and a short walk to Queensway and Bayswater tube stations. Lots of restaurants and convenience stores around.
All in all, my advice for you is to weigh what's important to you in your trip. If it is convenience in going to places, this is the right place for you. But if you do mind about things like big bed, big bathroom, decent sized fridge or washing liquids, you won't like it here. For me, I decided to cancel my last booking with them because it was for 'medium luxury' rooms. I thought, if I didn't get full comfort at Club room, my last 5 days in London would probably be worse in the medium luxury. I went to another serviced apartment furthere away and was happy with the decision.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent find - never used this type of accomodation before but glad I decided to try it out - great place, great room (one for 4 adults sharing) - plenty of room for 4 people :) very clean, very well set up - would def use again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked as part of deal including train travel. Have stayed in the area before which is a good location-plenty of shops/pubs/restaurants and very good tube access.
Would not stay here again however. The "apartment" was very small and basic. No satellite tv and kitchen equipment minimal-no washing up liquid or tea towel provided. Not conducive to a night in after a busy day in London if you can't be bothered going out.
Hair dryer would have been £20 to rent and had to pay £5 to leave bags there on day of departure which have never been asked to do before.
Will not return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There is nothing 'executive' about the place. Next to the hotel, is a hostel, the residents of which will keep you awake with loud drunken rantings. Ditto with partying guests who might be resident at the hotel

The reception area feels like a hostel, with tourist residents huddled close together to use the free wifi which is only available in the reception area. No regular emptying of waste bins in the room for those guests staying for weeks. Cockroaches sightings not uncommon. Cutlery and dishes long overdue for a overhaul.

The batteries on the smoke and fire alarm are not checked; resulting in an annoying beep sound that might steal your night's sleep. There is a night porter, who will probably tell you to wait till dawn.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor. The water pressure is not strong enough to reach the 4th floor. There are NO INT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The first shock was on arrival when I wanted to pay by credit card I was charged 3% the booking site (booking.com) made no mention of this surcharge and the receptionist basicly said pay it or find somewhere else but we will charge you for the first night.
I was given a room in the basement which was very hot and the only window opened onto a corridor. I think a party of elephants must have been staying in the room above as I could here them moving around until 1 AM also when they used their bathroom I could here the waste going down the pipes...nice
The TV was a very small screened unit and I couldn't beleive that the only channels available were BBC2, ITV, Chan 4 & Chan 5 not even BBC1 and the sound arrived 2/3 seconds before the picture. On enquiry at reception they told me this was the same through out the hotel.
These are marketed as Serviced Apartments and while they do have a small kitchenette they are little better than a hotel room with a sink and microwave.
To be fair there may be better rooms in the place, I booked a 'Medium Luxury' room and you won;t be surprised to hear I won;t be goind back.

Room Tip: Don't accept a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Location perfect, between Bayswater and Queensway underground stations. Perfect for Hyde Park, Kensington Palace etc.,
Absolutely avoid basement room B06 as it is so noisy it's ridiculous. You may as well sleep on the road!
Room adequate. Clean, nice bathroom. Perfect for one night but no more. Very basic. Reception staff left a lot to be desired but when extra pillows were requested, receptionist did deliver when I said the requisite 24 hour notice for requiring extra pillows was not available as we were only there for one night!
Requested twin beds but got double and bed was against a wall so not to clever for getting out without disturbing other person.

Room Tip: Do not take room B06 or any room that is basement and front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel

Address: 8-18 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hyde Park Executive Apartments
Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Park Executive Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.