We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cosy, charming place with great ambience serving delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Edmunds

Andrew Edmunds
46 Lexington Street, London W1F 0LP, England (Soho)
020 7437 5708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,194 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Established 1986, Andrew Edmunds is considered one of the last bastions of 'old Soho'. This 18thc. town house has, for almost thirty years, attracted many loyal customers. A relaxed atmosphere, seasonal menu and famous but reasonably priced wine list have ensured our enduring popularity.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, cosy, charming place with great ambience serving delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing! Really cosy, perfect for a nice long candlelit dinner with a friend or a romantic dinner. The place is really small, with a ground floor and a lower floor. Ground floor is a little nicer due to windows, but the place has such a great atmosphere that downstairs was okay too. The food was delicious! The apetisers we tried were nice but the main was simply amazing. (I had the pollock fillet with chorizo, beans, goats cheese and some greens.) Amazing preparation, bravo to the chef! The prices were decent, and the wine list was not very long but had some good bottles for reasonable prices! The service was attentive but not imposing or too much. overall, loved the place, will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    91
    76
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A superb meal at a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I went to Andrew Edmunds for lunch in a party of 14 friends. It was recommended by one of our number and he certainly didn't let us down. The food was excellent, the wine reasonably priced, and the service extremely friendly. We were never made to feel rushed despite spending four hours over lunch, and they even turned a blind eye to our singing (although we waited till the other customers had left, of course!). The bill came to £50 for three courses plus aperitif sherry, wine, dessert wine, and tip: not bad at all for a great meal in central London.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

While walking along Lexington street we noticed this restaurant and immediately noticed a great atmosphere inside with diners clearly enjoying themselves. There was no sign indicating its name but its blue trim matched that of the next building to it called Andrew Edmunds which was a dealer in fine prints. The external menu was headed Andrew Edmunds, the same! Intrigued, we booked a table for the following evening. On arrival we were offered a limited time table upstairs or an unlimited time one downstairs, which we took so as not to be rushed. We were not disappointed. Our waiter, who was between theater acting commitments, was a delight and very willing to discuss items on the menu and the history of next door and the restaurant itself. I had Pate de Foie Gras matched with the recommended desert wine followed by a beautifully presented Cassoulet which I reluctantly could not finish. It was served piping hot. I finished off with a desert and Expresso coffee. The wine list is one of the biggest I have ever seen and so it was challenge, but a pleasurable one, making a suitable choice. The evening was a delightful experience, and our waiter told us that most of their customers are regulars which is always a good recommendation. We were asked to visit them again, which we will.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Special Lunch venue - definately”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a small hidden gem which proved to be a great pick prior to a theatre booking. The service was casual / chic, and definitely not rushed, the food was fantastic the baked scallop starter was to die for, and the pollock as a main was rich and indulgent. The wine list has something for everyone. Downside, paper table clothes, cheap paper serviettes and ancient cheap cutlery. Would I go back, a very big yes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Candlelight And Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Outside it was a cold afternoon and already getting dark at 1pm.
Inside all was warm in the flickering candlelight.
My plate of British charcuterie followed by delicious lamb and mashed potatos and parsnip, and Madam's white bean soup then meat loaf and mash, together with a half bottle of good Fluerie sent us back out onto the Soho streets warm and smiling..Did I mention the shared Pear Frangipane ?...Yum. Did I mention the excellent service ?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew Edmunds also viewed

 

Been to Andrew Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Edmunds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.