We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good English Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes

Chimes
26 Churton Street, London, England (Victoria)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,815 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Victoria
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good English Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The reviews are all over the place. My experience was good. After arriving in London, we were looking for some "authentic" British cuisine that was within walking distance to our hotel in the Pimlico neighborhood. We were not disappointed. They had a large assortment of pies and other traditional fare. I had the roasted lamb shank in a redcurrant sauce with mashed potatoes and boiled vegetables. The meat was delicious and falling off the bone. The boiled vegetables were hot and seasoned--in other words, they didn't taste "bland." Service was a bit slow, but we enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    64
    18
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little London oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I don't understand the disappointment expressed by two other reviewers. This place is slightly off the beaten track, but very useful if, say, you're visiting Tate Britain, or (like me) heading off to Victoria for the Gatwick Express. I also used to lunch here when I worked nearby: it's discreet and pleasant, and the rear part of the dining room with its glass roof light, plants and antique agricultural theme, reflects the 'rus in urbe' style of cooking, all very relaxing. Lovely cider, yes, I agree, wonderful puddings, and tasty variety of pies. Not the place if you're after fast food, a Caesar salad or anything imported or gimmicky - but why would you be? (There's also, and quite incidentally, a great cheese shop just down the road. . . )

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hungry travellers - not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two of our group order the fish and chips. Coating on fish was so hard we could hardly get our knives through it and fish did not taste like fresh fish. Very disappointed as we had been recommended to go to this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Food was on the bland side and the prices were steep for what it was. There was also a service charge automatically added with nary a peep, so you have to be careful to not over-tip. The service itself was perfectly fine, although the food was a little slow getting to the table. Atmosphere was good - quiet. That doesn't save the place, though; won't be going back here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Elegant English bistro in Pimlico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I eat here perhaps three times a year and always have an excellent meal.
A small bar and restaurant with sufficient atmosphere and regular clientele to make every visit worthwhile.
Food mainly English styled including game pies, Yorkshire puddings, fish and chips etc.
Drinks include good beer and particularly cider and homemade lemonade.
Reasonably priced for London.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimes also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Chimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.