We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might leave hungry unless you have a very deep wallet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sake No Hana

Sake No Hana
23 St James's Street, London SW1A 1HA, England (St. James's)
+44 20 7925 8988
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sake No Hana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,862 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $197
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Sake no Hana bar and restaurant is housed on the first floor of a modernist Grade II listed building in the heart of St James, offering modern Japanese dining. The a la carte menu provides a variety of hot and cold appetisers, charcoal grill, Toban and Kamameshi dishes, while sushi and sashimi are... prepared to order at the 13 seat sushi bar. A carefully selected list of sakes, Japanese whiskeys and other wines, spirits and liqueurs complement the dishes offered in the restaurant. Sake no Hana's interiors were designed my esteemed architect Kengo Kuma and the bar includes a beautiful futuristic chandelier, offering the perfect space for post work cocktails. The bar is also a beautiful space for private parties of up to 60 guests for a standing canape event, or can host up to 25 guests seated for an exclusive private dining experience. Monday to Thursday, 12pm - 2.45pm, 6pm - 11pm; Friday, 12pm - 2.45pm, 6pm - 11.30pm, Saturday 12pm - 4pm, 6pm - 11.30pm
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“You might leave hungry unless you have a very deep wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A very upmarket Nobu-style Japanese restaurant in St James. The dishes were variable, with some excellent Alaskan Crab but some fairly ordinary beef dishes. The service is excellent and the food overall good, but the portions are very small and the prices very high, so unless you are a Russian oligarch, I recommend eating a sandwich first!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    111
    42
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Superb Japanese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place was quite amazing. Theatrically presented and unique dishes, and the four course menu is delicious and extremely good value. The place looks very authentic and chic, and the Miyazaki Passion is one of the most delicious drinks I ever tasted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful cocktails and a great starter and dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went inbetween Christmas and New Year's Day with my husband and two grown-up children. The cocktail bar downstairs provided alcoholic cocktails at £10 per head. Expensive, but worth the price, in my opinion. The rhubarb and kumquat vodka cocktail was sublime and each of us was given a different glass for our own special type of drink. The ginger and mint cocktail was refreshing and delicious; our son loved his with a huge ball of ice inside the red liquid.
We all chose from the a la carte - the soup was Miso with a tofu croquette. This had a depth of flavour to it and mixture of textures that were exceptional. The croquettes were crispy, with a smooth centre, bland tasting but mixed with the soup took on the deep, meaty flavours to provide a delicious taste.
We each tried a different dish from the a la carte - there was a choice of five different dishes.
The fish dish as seen in the photo was exceptional. However, the beef was good, as was the chicken and mixed tempura.
The highlight was the sweet - a beatiful dish in the shape of a red rose, flavoured with real raspberry juice. Inside was a dark chocolate cream on top of a biscuit base. Absolutely divine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“though a few rough spots, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall, we find Roka (Charlotte Street) warmer and more festive than Sake no Hana. Roka is more consistent and bit more faithful to Japanese cuisine -- its crab kamameishi is certainly better. But the sushi at Sake no Hana is at least as good if not better than Roka's. And overall, our dinner at Sake no Hana was very good. Excellent fresh tako salad -- top-quality octopus with lightly sesame-seasoned spinach leaves and pine nuts. We had just a bit of sushi -- uni and ikura gunkan. Both were super fresh and the ikura (happily) was not the salted type most sushi bars in London force on patrons. As for the rolls, we were presented with eye-pleasing ura-maki style rolls instead of typical seaweed-wrapped maki. The negi-toro were cut into cubes and attractively topped with finely chopped onion and tuna. This 'roll' and the spicy scallops roll were very good. The California crunch roll was nicely crunchy - but a bit filling. Of our three main courses, the grilled halibut was delicious - don't bother with gindara (black cod), especially at twice the price. The other two items were disappointing. The spider crab kamameishi should have been al dente, but the rice was mushy - a pity as the spider crab was quite good. Sake no Hana's bird-nest-style take on Japanese kakiage was too Chinese and too heavy - they should serve the real thing. Dessert was very good - jasmine-infused milk chocolate cake with carmelized honey ice cream. Though good quality, our junmai ginjo sake was priced too high (£30-35 for 300 ml bottle). Sake no Hana needs to work on serving and sequencing of dishes. Don't crowd the table with too many dishes. Re sequencing: cold / warm appetizers first, then sushi (not with the former) - and wrt main dishes, serve rice dishes like kama-meishi last, not first. Also, soy sauce isn't ketchup - you just need a smidge on your sushi, so don't pour it into your guests dish like it's water. Roka and most sushi restaurants in London make this mistake - but Sake no Hana should know better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good-value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant lunch here recently- this is the perfect place for a tasty, fresh lunch in upscale surrounding (without the stiff service you may find elsewhere). The layout of the restaurant is a little unusual due to the shape of the building but this didn't really detract from the experience. This is a good-value lunch option in St James.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake No Hana also viewed

 

Been to Sake No Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake No Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.