We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still lovely food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Ethiopian Restaurant

Addis Ethiopian Restaurant
40-42 Caledonian Road | Kings Cross, London N1 9DT, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)
020 72780679
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,391 of 16,874 restaurants in London
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Camden / Primrose Hill
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I first came to Addis about 2 years ago after returning from travelling around Ethiopia for a few weeks. I thought it was good back then... Even if the injera wasn't as tasty as what I had in Ethiopia. I went back there this last week and thoroughly enjoyed the food. I'd say it's improved! The tibs firfir was very tasty. No qualms recommending the place. Also had no troubles with service whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    18
    32
    17
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Service was awful : a meal supposedly for 2 absolutely not designed that way - how do you share a chicken thigh? -,vegetables clumsily melted into a dubious mixture when they're supposed to be separate, and last but not least a side dish that we had to pay for despite it never being served! Maybe we were there on a bad day, maybe we had to deal with the wrong person - the waitress looking after the table next to us looked OK - but we won't come back. Food was rather average anyway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Maybe we have chosen the wrong dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Popped in as the decor and the menu seemed nice. Ordered a fried sardine as starter..maybe the frying oil was old but the sardine was pretty heavy and fatty. Then ordered two kebab (lamb and chicken). The lamb was almost burnt so it ruined the whole taste. The chicken was not bad with its sauce but also overcooked with black/burnt parts. Maybe we have chosen the wrong dishes...who knows? the members of the staff did not show enthusiasm for what they were serving..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fresh & New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Decor was classic and simple, yet really brought out the African flavour of the whole atmosphere. First time trying out Ethiopian cuisine which made me quite surprised since its a whole new fresh concept to me.

Huge plate of pancake base which was slightly sour and had plenty of toppings on top - mostly meat marinated in different spices, also ordered the lamb steaks.

The meat marinated in different spices was reminiscent of Malay or Indian cuisine (what we get to taste here in Singapore) and the pancake base was similar to that of what we have in Singapore - which we call Mee Jian Kueh (Panfried Rice Pancakes) - but the sour version.

Lamb steaks exuded a strong "goaty" aroma when bit into it (which I am a big fan of) and they came off the bone quite easily.

Even though it is a bit fatty and messy, which is something you wouldn't fancy if you are going on a date, all in all, it is a good eye-opener to the world of Ethiopian cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dodgy and dismal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went along with Canadian friends visiting London for the first time. had been to great Italian at the weekend and wanted to try something different. A depressing atmosphere, poor quality service and food. Don;'t get how the card machine doesn't work in such a big place as this - a lot of cash changing hands?
The food is a mixture but generally a mixture of shredded tastless meat with no sign of vegetables.
Service is just non-existent. Can't understand why some visitors have said it's a good place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.