We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh & New” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Ethiopian Restaurant

Addis Ethiopian Restaurant
40-42 Caledonian Road | Kings Cross, London N1 9DT, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)
020 72780679
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,487 of 17,211 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Camden / Primrose Hill
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh & New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Decor was classic and simple, yet really brought out the African flavour of the whole atmosphere. First time trying out Ethiopian cuisine which made me quite surprised since its a whole new fresh concept to me.

Huge plate of pancake base which was slightly sour and had plenty of toppings on top - mostly meat marinated in different spices, also ordered the lamb steaks.

The meat marinated in different spices was reminiscent of Malay or Indian cuisine (what we get to taste here in Singapore) and the pancake base was similar to that of what we have in Singapore - which we call Mee Jian Kueh (Panfried Rice Pancakes) - but the sour version.

Lamb steaks exuded a strong "goaty" aroma when bit into it (which I am a big fan of) and they came off the bone quite easily.

Even though it is a bit fatty and messy, which is something you wouldn't fancy if you are going on a date, all in all, it is a good eye-opener to the world of Ethiopian cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    18
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dodgy and dismal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went along with Canadian friends visiting London for the first time. had been to great Italian at the weekend and wanted to try something different. A depressing atmosphere, poor quality service and food. Don;'t get how the card machine doesn't work in such a big place as this - a lot of cash changing hands?
The food is a mixture but generally a mixture of shredded tastless meat with no sign of vegetables.
Service is just non-existent. Can't understand why some visitors have said it's a good place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“2nd visit. Food good, but why no credit card..again?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The header tells it pretty much all.
Been here for the second time. Food was good again. Especially the Kitfo.
Service is sluggish but decent friendly.

What really turned me otf this time was that I could not pay by credit card... again.

Last time -12 months ago - they at least tried to run my card. This time they just said "no! trouble with the machine".
One wonders now: still or again.
Regardless: put up a sign or tell upon order that this is a cash only place. Not all your guests are from the UK with easy access to ATM's or carry loads of £ in cash.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

So good, reminds me of home! I strongly recommend this place. The service was excellent, and the staff were soooo nice! Perfect! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place, top service, wonderful atmosphere and decor, and most importantly, fantastic food. As a veggie along with my partner, we had a taste feast for only £15 for the two of us! Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.