We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beck's cafe

Beck's cafe
28 red lion street, London, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
02074058565
Improve this listing
Ranked #982 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury / Holborn
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This cafe delivers excellent food which is very tasty and well-presented, together with quick and efficient service from friendly staff. The menu is very 'user friendly' as you can design your own breakfast from a wide variety of choices. The toast is of good quality bread, with butter and it's really good value. The only criticism I'd make is that the toilets are in need of redecoration and a tidy-up. Other than that, it's a treat. Go and visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Since being taken there by one of my more trusted customers I would eat here every day if I could and also if my waistline would allow

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Found this place online since we did not have breakfast included in our hotel rate. What a find! Fantistic full English breakfast for really modest price. Good service.
This is where the cabbies hang out so you know the food is fresh and tasty.
Went back 3 out of the 4 mornings we had.
Portions are really large.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good honest family cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Popped in here on last night of our family holiday as we wanted to stay near hotel. I now the area thru work but had not discovered Red Lion Street with Becks Cafe, a decent chinese and two great pubs.
Extensive menu with something for all and friendly service too - used by London taxi drivers so must be good!
Shepherds Pie was lovely as were my family's steak, chicken and salad. decent wine proces too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect spot for our first full day in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to Beck's for a big English breakfast to start our first full day in London. It was my first ( but not the last!) experience with beans and chips for breakfast! The entire meal was very tasty, eggs perfectly cooked, and service quick and friendly. Loved the neighborhood; just a few blocks from Holborn tube station.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beck's cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beck's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beck's cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.