We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Mama used to make” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mia

Casa Mia
455 Uxbridge Road, London HA5 4JR, England
0871 971 7490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10,222 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Like Mama used to make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went with my husband. The restaurant was extremely busy but the friendly waitress showed us to available table. Lovely service, little free olives and bread on the table. I had crespolini, the dish was a little hot and i burnt my mouth slightly, that said, when it cooled down it was very very nice. We had fresh parmagarni put on which melted in the heat. My husband had the bolognese, which he thoroughly enjoyed. The waitress mentioned the peroni was also available on draught which was unusual and we were pleased, as she didnt have to mention it. I would recommend this restaurant and we will be returning very soon. At last.... have found a decent italian, which is NOT a chain. Service Charge! Advise you to book. We had very good service. Jeanette.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Menu with excellent choice and good prices but food disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Chose Casa Mia for an early-bird dinner and each of our party of six chose the fixed price menu. The restaurant was empty when we arrived and only a few tables were taken by the time we left.Service was courteous and efficient and the choice from the menu appealing. However, whilst some dishes were quite good (the crespelle) many of the dishes were bland and unappetising. Some of the vegetables were undercooked and the desert choice was mostly made elsewhere and disappointing.

In short, it held out more promise that was delivered and we'd rather eat up the road in Hatch End where there is a good choice including Fellini's which has as good a variety on the menu, excellent service, tasty food and provides an overall experience streaks ahead of Casa Mia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Dry chicken and very poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Casa Mia loads of times and have always really enjoyed it. This time though the chicken was dry and tasteless. Yet when we drew this to the attention of the manager, we were made to feel that we were in the wrong. It is just not good enough, we expected an apology and the offer of another meal, instead we were greeted with a furious manager who could barely contain his anger towards us.

DON'T GO TO THIS RESTAURANT !!!!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Let us tell you how celebrations for the New Year 2014 at Casa Mia has left us feeling.

Being herded like cattle in a truck into your GROSSLY OVERCROWDED restaurant. This in itself WAS ILLEGAL and against ALL HEALTH AND SAFETY REGULATIONS, for the number of people in a hall or restaurant. It was also a TOTAL DISREGARD FOR OUR WELLBEING AND SAFETY. If an incident had happened in the kitchen, disaster would have prevailed. Wedged between the wall and our friends, we could not lift our arms to eat properly or comfortably. It was an example of SHEER GREED by an owner with no thought for his clientelle.
We arrived at 8.20 and appeared to be the last table served. Our first course came at 10pm, the main around 11.10pm. Coffees and teas, after repeated requests, around 12.30 when people were already leaving.
It was HORRENDOUSLY HOT as the evening progressed, and there was a distinct lack of oxygen which gave my wife breathing difficulties. This was only helped a little when someone was able to open the door and leave it open, but this was about 11 oclock.
There was no audible radio for the countdown, no glass of something, no Big Ben chimes, NOTHING. No communication with anyone to tell us to go and see the fireworks outside, NOTHING. Totally spoiled what should have been a very special evening out.

Casa Mia has always been a trusted friend, and friends usually respect one another. You have let us all down. This means that we can never set foot in Casia Mia again, this is then passed on to others. All due to your TOTAL DISREGARD OF THE SITUATION. Other than your food, which was still excellent, the evening was depressing and a disaster. You came over to my wife as we were leaving after we had spoken to you and apologised, but made no effort to offer any redress. To add insult to injury, we still paid the service charge.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lovely food and nice staff BUT too many tables added for the evg. We have been here many times but did not enjoy last night. Surely it was against all safety laws to have so many people crammed. Come on Tony. You must consider you customers otherwise you won't have a business much longer. We will never go on New Years again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.