We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay at the Wellness Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellness Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wellness Home
75 Thornton Avenue | Chiswick, London W4 1QF, England (Chiswick)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 521 London B&B and Inns
Massy, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay at the Wellness Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I am writing to highly recommend the Wellness Home to anyone who may be traveling to London and considering a stay at a bed and breakfast. Valerie and David were excellent hosts who were by all accounts very welcoming and considerate. The location is superb, not even a five-minute walk from the Turnham Green tube stop, which provides direct access to Westminster, Big Ben, and central London. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean; the beds and pillows very comfortable. In addition, the healthy, wholesome breakfasts practically get you through to dinner! This is one of the best places I have ever stayed and could not have hoped for a better London experience. My sincere gratitude to Valerie and David for a wonderful stay at the Wellness Home.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
27
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Park, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Clean room, caring hosts (Valerie & David), great healthy breakfast, great location to the tube and Chiswick, free wifi, etc..... I could have stayed at a downtown London Hotel, but why?? I would have paid more and gotten a much smaller room, much louder environment and no healthy breakfast included in the room rate. If you want a great place at a great price, select the Wellness House. Book early, as their calendar books up quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I attended a conference last November in London and we stayed at The Wellness home. This was a wise decision, even if the venue of the conference is at Westminster. It is convenient to go anyplace as the tube is just around the corner. From Heathrow Airport, take the Piccadilly line, transfer at Acton Town to the Green District Line and get off at Turnham Green. Turnham Green is located in two zones and you can use whichever zone is most beneficial in working out your fare. The only turnoff is that there is no lift or escalator at the station making it difficult to carry your heavy luggage. Going to Central London was also easy. We stayed at the twin room in the ground floor with attached bathroom. The room was simple and functional, the shower was strong, and with good Wi-Fi connection. There is no lock into your room and yet no one will disturb you. Being an IT guy, David was very helpful on this aspect. Breakfast was healthy, with a variety to choose and filling. Valerie was a good host and made her guests interact with each other at breakfast. She was also very accommodating to serve breakfast earlier when advised. David would try every morning to get freshly baked croissants for us when we told him we liked it very much. Rollo is a cute, friendly, and well behaved dog. We left our luggage to store when we went to Scotland and when our flight back was late in the night. The only let down was that our room was not cleaned for 5 days when we were there. Maybe, you can make arrangements at the time of booking if you are staying longer than 3 days. Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay at the B&B.

Room Tip: The twin room with ensuite bathroom for those carrying heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived at the Wellness Home after almost 24 hours on the plane from Australia, feeling weary and in need of sleep. From the moment the front door was opened at 75 Thornton Avenue we felt very much at home. Our room on the top floor was very comfortable, light and airy. We had our own en-suite and deck. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had in our seven plus weeks in Europe and we slept like babies. Valerie and David made us feel extremely welcome and gave us lots of information, but also gave us freedom to come and go whenever. Their breakfasts were magnificent. Croissants that outdid anything else we experienced in France and a variety of fruit, juices, breads, jams, teas and coffee that made it a superb breakfast. And cheeses to die for. They say position is everything and this is certainly true of The Wellness Home in Chiswick. Close to Heathrow, great shopping centre, with a wonderful Waterstone's bookshop, and restaurants literally around the corner. It provides easy travel to London city on either the Tube or the bus, which we preferred because we had such a good view from the top deck. We can't speak more highly of Valerie and David's friendliness and professionalism. David's suggestion that we hire a Sat Nav to get us to and from Stratford Upon Avon saved us. Without it we would still be driving around the streets of London trying to find the hire car return depot.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top. It costs a little more and has a few more stairs to climb, but is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well. It's hard to start a review when all you have to say is "Oh, wow, yeah, look at that! My Goodness! Don't they think they should be staying in this room and not tourists! Oh, yummy!" ... to say the least.

The Concept: "It's good for us, it's good for the environment, so it's good for you."

Valerie and David AND Rollo live in a very carefully furnished and established home. From "Take off your shoes, please." to "You can turn on the air cleaner in your room.", you will enjoy the everyday luxury of knowing you do not harm to the environment.

The bed was so great it made my back ache vanish in two nights!

First thing though, do read the letter they left in your room. It contains handy information on who they are, where you are and what is good in all this. Do ask lots of questions, Valerie and David are full of good ideas about where to go, how to get there, etc. They will greet you in the evening when you return (if they are in, otherwise they leave this job to Rollo). They are very respectful hosts and don't overload you with questions about your trip and who you are. But they are more than willing to help if you need advice. And even if you are very clear on all your programs, do ask them for some useful tips and advice.

The Practice: "We made this ourselves."

Then it's morning time. Oh, yes. Good old morning times. The breakfast is extraordinary. I have taken home a bit of Valerie with me and now eat Granola with oven grilled plums. Thanks for this, Valerie.
Valerie and David and cheese-hungry Rollo will be in the spacious kitchen waiting for you with a "Tudor feast" for breakfast (much better then Heston Blumenthal's). Their idea is that you don't only get a bed but they want to know you better. After all, you are in their home, so do feel like part of the family for your stay.
Valerie will break down any barriers between cultures and backgrounds. We were amazed how many of her guests are returning for the third time or even more.

The Outcome:

You will get a stay that you will never forget. Learn new ideas for making your life better and get somewhat fatter (like I did ... all that exquisite cheese platter at breakfast.)

Our Advice:

Don't overload your luggage with shampoo and soap. They have lovely biodegradable stuff to help you groom yourself. Hairdryer and water purifier is part of the set up and you even get a Mac computer in your room on the upper floor. And tea and coffee on your bedside table.

Tip1: Go and see Chiswick house and the Farmers' Market on a Sunday morning. You'll love the Thames.

Tip2: Check out opening times of Fullers' Griffin Brewery while you are at it and stop for a pint or lunch at The Mawsons Arms (The Fox and Hounds). Don't go on a Sunday morning as they are not open usually until lunch. We went there when there was a National Trust visit to the Brewery but the lady at the bar so kindly served us and had an idea of taking some photos behind the bar. Lovely!

Thumbs up for Valerie and David and a big thank you from Budapest and Milan!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor room for two nights with the bathroom separate from the room but this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Valerie and David were abroad, which we were assured is rare, but their friend Jillian looked after us. Chiswick is a lovely area with lots to do. We were a really quick walk to bus stops, a cab center, and the tube. If you want some great shopping and eating in London, this is a great place to stay. It woud be good for families. Enough about the area, though, the Wellness Home is great!! It's a green establishment. Filtered water in pitchers so you can refill your own water bottles. The bed was really comfortable and the pillows were amazing. We had a private terrace, our own large (American-sized) bathroom that appeared to be brand new. The shower was fantastic. If we had wanted to stay in and relax, there was space for us to do so in a living room. We checked our shoes and cares at the front door. The breakfast was healthly and rejuvenating, and not at all lacking. My husband who is mostly a meat-eater found the fruits selection, cheese board, very fresh bread, cereals, juice selections, and homemade museli satisfying. Jillian had great recommendations and gave good directions to help us get around. It's convenient to central london and all the major sites via tube and Heathrow as well. It's a wonderful place to stay. We plan to return, and hope to stay there again!! For readers, we went for a couples trip, but we have kids and we believe this would also be a good aread and great B&B for a family trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room. It was quiet and comfortable (VERY COMFORTABLE). It's a smallish r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B at the end of September and we found it perfect and really comfortable. Homely atmosphere, a large triple bedroom with roof terrace(ours), bathroom, plenty of room, a Mac with free wifi connection and, above all, Valerie and David. They're nice and kind, available for every request or info, and their breakfast is the top! Healthy food and wonderful conversation, because in that white lovely kitchen you can have breakfast with people from all over the world and their experiences - you are there to exchange stories with them. The best way to start a day in London!
Rooms have no keys but you can trust the other guests and the owners because nobody ever entered our room. The house is a free shoes zone, so you have to wear slippers - as at home, and it's really comfortable going down the stairs for breakfast with your onw slippers. The mascotte of the house is Rollo, a funny and lovely dog always ready when you want to pet him.
The Underground(district line-the green one) is 20mt far from the B&B and Chiswick is cute and quiet, but at the same time full of life with its restaurants, brasseries and shops. A really nice stay, I would recommend this place to everybody.
Fantastic is still a ittle word to describe The Wellness Home B&B!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wellness Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellness Home

Address: 75 Thornton Avenue | Chiswick, London W4 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Wellness Home offers an organic vegetarian or vegan breakfast in our family kitchen and we include home-made muesli and bread, tea or coffee and freshly made vegetable juice.We provide a Wellness environment with ozone-free air filtration system, superb filtered drinking water and beds designed around the physiology of sleep. We request that guests remove their outdoor shoes on entering the house but we can provide slippers if required. Please note: our minimum stay is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wellness Home Hotel London
The Wellness Home London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellness Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wellness Home to your Saves list