We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho Sloane

Gaucho Sloane
89 Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3DX, England (Chelsea)
+44 20 7584 9901
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaucho Sloane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,875 of 17,054 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $61 - $106
Cuisines: Latin, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic steaks cooked to perfection. Some great Malbecs to choose from.
Service was disappointing, especially compared with other Gauchos I've visited (Swallow Street, More London) Waiting staff seemed a bit put out that we were in the restaurant and constantly forgot to bring stuff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    84
    44
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked a table for our wedding anniversary, and had a wonderful night. All the staff wished us a happy anniversary when we arrived, and we were given a complimentary glass of champagne to start our evening. The wine list is extensive, and we were shown all of the cuts of meat before we selected our main dishes. All the food was exceptional, and our server was very polite and courteous. We weren't rushed at all and we sat had has a leisurely cocktail after dinner. Afterwards the staff asked us if we wanted them to order us a cab, and the following day we received a lovely email from the restaurant thanking us for choosing them on our anniversary. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I was looking to take some close relatives that were visiting London to a nice place for dinner and I did choose Gaucho at Sloane avenue. I have been over the years a number of times in the other Gaucho around the city but never to this one but my expectations were high.
It was a party of 7 ones and as soon as we arrived we were escorted to our table. Soon after we were able to order our coctails and other drinks and soon after we went through the usual introduction of what is available and what type and sizes of steaks they were plus the specials and the wine menu
We all order different combinations and at the end each one of them was perfectly cooked and presented. The side orders were suffcient for us to share as we did not order that many. Dessert ice cream was also tasty and the wine we chosen although not that expesive was still great.
Overall I am pleased to say that my family had a great time and enjoyed the food as that was important for me to give them a nice London dining experience
Only negative (and this is expected) is that to go to such places in London it cost a bit. But I was fully aware of the cost so it did not surprised me at all when the bill came. This is what you expected in London for a nice steak .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Simply an excellent rstaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Consistent good steak, with good wine, decent cocktails and the bread. Oh the bread. Its amazing. Quite like the fact that you can get 1.2kg of steak in one go. Aim to attempt that at some point in life.

Booking essential as they tend to be very very busy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was at this restaurant on 31.07.13 for lunch and must say it was very disappointing. We had ordered two Gaucho Grill burgers which at just under £16 each , you would expect something good considering they specialize in beef.
Well these were left standing at the pass for more than five minutes as the only waitress that day was otherwise occupied. when they finally arrived, they tasted strange and we had to leave them. The rest of the afternoon I had indigestion.
I guess it was a mistake to order burgers in a steak restaurant, but then they should not be offering them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Sloane also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho Sloane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho Sloane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.