We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sushi and seared marinated mackerel to die for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomoe

Tomoe
292 Upper Richmond Road, London SW15 6TH, England
0203 7307 884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #474 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi and seared marinated mackerel to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tomoe is one of the few great Japanese restaurant in London. I wanted to keep the place as a secret, but it seems every time I go there now I bump in to someone I know!
Not much of an atmosphere in terms of decor but it makes up for delivery of consistent standard in quality. The price is not cheap but not as much as Zuma or Roka. What they serve is simple and traditional Japanese food without frills.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great fun with a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were greeted with 3 steaming hot pots full of broth and vegetables and large platters of thinly sliced pork. Delicious. We ordered many other dishes including oysters, 2 different chicken dishes and gyozas. The broth from the hot pot after everything was cooked was delicious. Enjoyable dinner with plenty of room for a large party (13+ people)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I am English but i lived in Japan for 8 years and as much as i could tell, the food was very authentic. We went with a group of friends and we were seated downstairs on a Friday evening. The place was packed and it had quite a few tables full of Japanese salarymen making it feel more authentic. Very much like a Japanese izakaya for those that are familiar with them. Most of the waiters were Japanese as well and they were very attentive.
After eating and drinking for 3 hours, the bill came to GBP 43 each and we were very well fed so it felt reasonable. The dragon sushi roll takes an hour to prepare so if you like it, order it as soon as you arrive.
The decor is looking tired but the good food and a fun atmosphere make up for it. i would come back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the first time, it seemed to be good, as i just had a quick lunch. BUT bad attitude of the waitresses for the second...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

the first time, it seemed to be good, as i just had a quick lunch. BUT bad attitude of the waitresses for the second time we visited there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Japan in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Run by a fishmonger, the restaurant serve fresh and delicious food at very reasonable price. I would recommend to book a table at basement, where you'll find yourself being in Japan.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoe also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tomoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.