We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evin Cafe Restaurant

Evin Cafe Restaurant
115 Kingsland High St, London E8 2PB, England
02072545634
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,166 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Evin is one of my favourite cafes in the Dalston area. Food is consistently good, service is friendly and efficient, value is guaranteed. Great breakfasts and lunches. The fries are phenomenal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in my local area.......will return again and again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love Evin. Turkish/mediterranean and British (particularly breakfasts, but there are a range of breakfasts) fare. The prices are good, the menu wide and varied enough. Good solid food at reasonable prices, considering the hike in prices in this passing trendy area. An example is going to Evin for a decent-sized breakfast and you're paying £5-6. Go to another place very nearby which has a higher trendy drawing appeal and you're paying almost double for much less food. Well, I suppose being trendy doesn't make one smart. Evin has tables outside under a canopy which get the sun on good days, and the first space inside is nicely decorated with an intimate atmosphere. The back space is much less inviting, and seems rather tired and run down. This cafe/restaurant has been very busy on the last two visits I've made, and as a result I've had to sit in that back area. So, a word to the owners, please improve the decor and ambience back there :0). Great for a coffee, great for breakfast and good for substantial dinners, with lots of side-salad. Use this place! the view by the way migh be described as scenic. It's the busy Kingsland Road and the busy pavement running by it. Interesting to people watch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Çok güzel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a discovery! In a street full of Turkish eating places this one really stands out. Not just the usual kebabs, but a veritable feast of mazas and old Turkish favourites, with a speciality of traditional Anatolian dishes, like the amazing içli köfte (similar to kibbe, but soft, and served on a thick bed of yoghurt) and really excellent hünkar begendi (stewed lamb on an aubergine purée). Friendly, efficient service, and amazingly reasonable bill.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Stands out in the local competition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Considering the choice of Turkish restaurants around here, this one is doing well to stand out in the crowd. We have been three times in the last 6 weeks and have had an excellent meal each time. It is authentic, good value and the service comes with a smile. We took a couple of vegetarians and they were very happy. We were very happy at our table at the back (it was busy when we arrived) and when one became available at the front they came and asked if we would like to move. We didn't move but it was a nice gesture to be asked. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been here every time since I have started visiting Dalston ( 3 times in a month ) and i love it. Excellent service, great value for money and gorgeous food.
Everything on the menu seems a very reasonable price, the burger and chips was under £4 and was a decent sized serving. On one occasion they bought out a wrong main meal, was no problem at all but straight away they bought over free of charge flatbread to apologise. There is sometimes a lady sat in the restaurant making the fresh bread, lovely touch!
Price of soft drinks is £1 for a can, reasonable i think for a cafe / restaurant.
Really cant fault this place, its my favourite place in the high street to eat.
To give you an example of cost, for 3 adults to have lunch with each of us having 2 soft drinks it came to £20.05.
Cant wait for my next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evin Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Evin Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evin Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.