We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galvin Bistrot de Luxe

Galvin Bistrot de Luxe
66 Baker Street, London W1U 8EP, England
+44 20 7935 4007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #463 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $33 - $124
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The original restaurant to be opened by the Galvin brothers, the Bistrot was an overnight success with food critics and customers alike. Bistrot de Luxe has won several prestigious awards, amongst them Best French Restaurant for 2 years running, as well as top awards from the AA and Tatler Magazine. With their Michelin-starred backgrounds, Chris and Jeff Galvin bring top quality French cuisine at affordable prices, with their flair for sourcing the best seasonal ingredients, and over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Today, the bistrot still retains much of its original ethos. Chef Patron, Chris Galvin, together with Head Chef, Luigi Vespero, offer a seasonally-inspired French menu, comprising many bistrot classics. Few restaurants in London have managed to emulate the success of this timeless classic.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Food here is nice enough, but for the money you can get a lot better. Attentive service albeit they are invisible when you want to pay, but the menu is a little limited and a little over priced

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    176
    36
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants in London, and we eat out a lot. The food is always excellent. The service friendly and efficient. And the atmosphere buzzing but perfect for romance as well if that's how the mood takes you. Highly recommended but do book, it's always busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Popped in for lunch menu. Starters: excellent terrine and great sweet corn soup. Cod for main was super fresh and expertly done on spinach and white bean. Wild pigeon also fantastic. Service excellent, and helped us speed through as we were rushing off. Been maybe half a dozen times now - always great. Other Gavin's even better though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with 4 colleagues for a working lunch and the experience was perfect in every way for the occasion and, in fact, it was clear that it would be excellent for any time of occasion.

THE FOOD: Superb quality; rustic bread on the table, mini hors d'oeuvres of fois gras on toasted brioche (superb); I had crab to start and the lamb tagine for my main and both were exquisite.

THE VENUE: Decor was akin to a continental restaurant, so grand with chandeliers, mirrors, paintings, leather chairs. Despite the restaurant being packed, the ambience was excellent and there was no need to shout to discuss our business.

THE SERVICE: We were attentively waited on from entry to departure, with every interaction with the restaurant's staff being extremely polite.

THE VERDICT: The restaurant, food and service were truly excellent and I'd recommend dining here for any occasion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gluten Free? - no problem! Delicious meal, wonderful service and amazing value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were looking for a nice restaurant, able to cater for my Gluten Free diet and within easy reach of Oxford Street and Paddington train station as we needed to catch the 21.45 train.

We called to book and they were most helpful and reassured me that Gluten free was not a problem.

Between 18.30 & 19.00 they had a Special Offer three course fixed price menu with a glass of champagne for under £30 each which was really amazing value!

The menus offered an excellent choice - both in the special offer menu and the a la carte and everything we had was really delicious!
The service couldn't have been better; Attentive and good humoured without being intrusive.

This was our first visit but it certainly won't be the last.
Thoroughly Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvin Bistrot de Luxe also viewed

 
Abbey Dore, Herefordshire
 

Been to Galvin Bistrot de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galvin Bistrot de Luxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.