We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Goa

Ma Goa
242-244 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 6TG , England
02087801767
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ma Goa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #240 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Tube: East Putney, Bus Nos. 337,430 Putney Bridge
Description: At Ma Goa Restaurant, my Mother and her team prepare their favourite dishes using family recipes passed downthe generations. Our menu takes inspiration from the beautiful palm fringed region of Goa (where my Ma learnt to cook) but also takes influences from other parts of India.Since its opening in 1993, we have won critical acclaim from many top critics & we take pride in the fact that we are a genuine family-run restaurant. Our mission has always been to serve tasty, fresh, unpretentious home-style cooking in a warm & friendly setting.Situated 2 minutes away from Putney British Rail & 5 minutes away from East Putney Tube it makes a perfect venue before a night on the town. We also offer a popular take-away & free local delivery service & a party catering service. We look forward to welcoming you to Ma Goa soon.
Quarteira, Faro, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I believe that when you have a great experience you need to share it… The dishes were executed perfectly, the flavors were rich and well presented, the wines were affordable and excellent (Loved the Portuguese Gaudio Alvarinho from Alentejo) . The restaurant buzzed with excited energy, the service was well-timed and friendly staff. I really loved the relaxed feel of this place, I definitely would return to try more dishes and I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    151
    44
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not your average Indian food. Authentic and delicious. We had a great time and live in Putney so have take out all the time now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Summer Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a summer party recently and Ma Goa catered. From the very beginning, Deepak and staff were willing to work with us and deliver exactly what we wanted. Lovely variety of canapés followed by very tasty bowl food, all of which was passed around while guests mingles. Excellent service and delicious food. Highly recommend using Ma Goa for catering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ma Goa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant - the best Indian restaurant in South West London. The menu is different from the standard and the service (in the restaurant, via its delivery service and as outside catering) is invariably friendly and first class.

If you are considering outside caterers, the service from Ma Goa is excellent. The food is delicious and the service friendly and reliable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & a diverse, excellent wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Being a wine educator I am often disappointed by the standard and uninspiring wine lists that are to be found in Indian restaurants - but not here. The wine savvy and very knowledgeable owner, Dee, has created a superb wine list offering a diverse selection from classic styles to a few 'off-piste' gems. You won't be disappointed - try their Alvarinho, the new Gavi (wonderfully fresh) and the uber-rare (but very well-priced) David Reynaud Crozes-Hermitage 2011 (100% Syrah).

The food is fab too inspired mainly from Goa with Portuguese influences (try the chorizo) covering a range of flavours, spices and hotness. Well presented, ample portions that are reasonably-priced. Thoroughly impressed.

Great Goan food, a cracking wine list & very polite and attentive staff. Great stuff - Keep it going Dee!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaGoa, Owner at Ma Goa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest, This is high praise indeed - especially from a wine educator. Wine is a passion for me & I love to share wines that I have tasted & feel work well with Indian food. I am thrilled that you have appreciated this & hope you will return & make your way through our wine list (& menu). KInd regards, Deepak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma Goa also viewed

 

Been to Ma Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.