We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scoop

Scoop
40 shorts gardens, London WC2H 9AB, England (Covent Garden)
02072407086
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,615 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Artisan Italian ice cream shop with seating area. Scoop offers home office delivery service to central London post codes. Gift vouchers available as well as hot waffles and crepes. Illy coffee and fantastic fine tea selection served in a cozy environment and friendly service in the heart of Covent Garden! Not to be missed!
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

In the Convent Gardens area close to the theaters We went there specifically for the gelato, particularly since it's so hard to find cinnamon gelato which is my husband's favorite. We had had another gelato earlier in the day (for another review) and we were dying to find a great one. This was it for us. He had two scoops, one each of cinnamon and black cherry and he was in heaven. i had the madagascar vanilla and the chocolate and both were exceptionally creamy and delicious. We would go back there in a minute. We went late at night (10pm) and no waiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Nz
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Scoop South Kensington - Worst Churros ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friend found a deal on Groupon to go to Scoop for Churros. We're fans of these delicious doughnut-ty delicacies, and so we jumped at the deal! It was valid for any Scoop outlet in London, and so we chose the Scoop in South Kensington as it was the most conveniently located for us. The Churros were disgusting. They were poorly cooked - in fact, barely cooked, and my friend's were still slightly raw in the centre, and they were pale and undercooked looking on the outside! The chocolate dipping sauce was 'ok', but became sickly sweet very quickly. The Churros and chocolate were served with a peculiar coffee milkshake type drink - we got to choose a gelato flavour to be mixed in with hot coffee - not like Afogato, but acutally blended together in a milkshake maker. The taste was odd (I chose milk-flavoured gelato (which was unpleasant) and there were cold and hot parts througout the drink - as if it hadn't been mixed properly. I'm glad we didn't pay a lot of money for this unpleasant experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Favourite place for ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great ice cream (lots of flavours) and other treats (waffles, crepe)! Don't go there for coffee!

Only downside: few seats and sometimes a long queue. Still, would go there again and again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice, though something you go in for a short period of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really nice gelato, and good coffee. It does however feel more like somewhere you go for an ice cream, then leave, than a nice tea shop where you can relax and chat.

If I'm being picky, portion sizes could also be a bit more generous for the large ones - overall though I've been twice, and I will go again, but it does have it's place (i.e. not somewhere you can't walk by without going in)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Avoid if you don't want to wait forever for poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We bought a groupon voucher. Bad idea. We arrived at 2pm on a Sunday and had to queue for 45 minutes before being served (everyone else in the line also had a groupon so they clearly sold too many).

Service was disgusting - really rude and unfriendly and it was awful that they only had 2 people on duty.

The cafe itself is really tiny and has only 3 small tables. We were forced to take out. The atmosphere inside is claustrophobic and the decor is dated.

The gelato itself was okay but nothing special. Had better from ZaZa. The waffle and pancakes were nice. The portion size for groupon customers was tiny - instead of 2 proper scoops you get 2 tiny slithers.

Won't be back and don't recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoop also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Scoop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.