We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Liverpool Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Liverpool Street to your Saves list
Andaz Liverpool Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #63 of 1,065 Hotels in London
A TripAdvisor Member
“Engagement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is beautiful lots of character and wonderful staff. Before we arrived I had asked the hotel if I could use the catch champagne lounge for a marriage proposal, I had organised a guy to play guitar and sing. When we arrived they had given us a free upgrade (it was my birthday too) the room was lovely and they brought me a birthday cake.

In the morning we arrived in the catch bar .. as we walked in the hotel staff had arranged a table perfectly in front of the singer with 2 glasses of champagne. At the end I asked for the bill and they said it's all been signed off!!

The hotel made this day so special for us and a special thank you to Rush (sorry if Iv misread your name from your card) So friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone great location for Spitalfields market, Shoreditch and the tube right outside. The hotel is beautiful but it's the wonderful staff who really make this place. Thank you everyone!! She said yes!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    432
    108
    28
    12
See reviews for
181
714
186
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wonderful warm welcome in the cocktail lounge on a fiercely cold Tuesday afternoon with an hour to kill between late afternoon meetings. Shown to corner table, coat elegantly decanted by attentive staff and a glass of 'white' house champagne appeared in nanoseconds. A corner table was a safe refuge to read the paper, with clever lighting making it possible to do so. Surprisingly good seasonal music at just the right volume, not intrusive but audible. Plenty of men interviewing each other. Downstairs ladies is FAB, so all in all rather excellent, though £13.95 for a small flute of house champers is not for the faint hearted!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here because having read reviews on the hotel we were keen to give it a try. We were eating in our favourite restaurant nearby and meeting friends in London the following day so we decided to give it a go.

Lovely reception area with complimentary beverages and cakes which were very nice when dropping off our bags and checking in.

Check in didn't go so smoothly - I received email offering to be checked in online which i did and got an email to tell me my room was ready! However when my husband arrived it had not registered apparently so he had to go through it all again - oddly though our bags had been put in the right room prior to this so it seemed like it was just trying too hard!

The room was very pleasant and surprisingly quiet seeing as our window literally looked out over the concourse at Liverpool Street Station - we could even read the times of the trains. A very comfortable bed and nice to have complimentary soft drinks. Good Wifi, toiletries, robes etc. Hairdryer good as it was positioned in front of a mirror (as so often they are not!!).

Overall a nicely appointed and quite interesting room.

Two points to be aware of however. Firstly the bath is very deep and even if you are reasonably agile it is a bit risky climbing out after a bath - take care. Secondly (and very unusually) if you use the sink taps while someone is taking a shower it affects the heat - My husband had a bit of a cooked once!! Again not a real problem but something to be aware of.

I have to say a super breakfast. Buffet style but excellent choice with really decent fresh breads and pastry.

Had a couple of drinks in the Champagne bar which were nice, decent staff and not overly expensive.

This is not an outstanding amazing hotel but it is perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay in town. Quite expensive for what you get but it is in a very good location where decent hotels are a bit tricky to find.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stepping into this hotel is breath taking, just a pity the person checking me in must have been having a bad day as he totally ruined my first impressions of the hotel. Once shown my room I was surprised how large it was and I had requested a room on a higher floor and this was given. The shower was brillent I would love to have the same one at home. Free soft drinks and snacks were a nice touch.
Breakfast next morning was a good start to our day and the surroundings were so grand and the food was very high quality and piping hot.
Yes the price here is high but if you want a good central location, a good nights sleep and a brilliant breakfast then The Andaz has all the boxes ticked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a night when visiting friends in the area. The location next to the train station is excellent meaning we could drop our bags off before going around London for the day. On our return we were offered a free room upgrade which was great.
We also ordered room service in the morning which was very well cooked and served piping hot- only thing missing were enough days to sit around the table. Would visit again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Second time at this hotel, Had problem connecting to Wifi each time. For the hotel price, they could do better than this.

Breakfast was good

Faucet is noisy

Check-in staff a bit slow, staff should do it quicker, the staff seem laid back, guests are tired after long flight, and not helpful if staff acting nonchalantly and taking own time

Room Tip: second time staying here. Wifi was bad, for the hotel price, could do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Service is clearly the differentiator when comparing the Andaz to other hotels. Every single member of staff we spoke with were very well trained, willing to help with any request and were courteous at all times. These standards are normally poor in generic modern hotels and it was refreshing to enjoy the pleasant Andaz experience. Breakfast in the 1901 restaurant satisfied every possible choice, traditional English was high quality. Thank you to all staff for making our 2 nights stay a real pleasure. We will automatically book Andaz when we are next in London.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay.Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz Liverpool Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Liverpool Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.