We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced underwelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Liverpool Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Liverpool Street to your Saves list
Andaz Liverpool Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #63 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced underwelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I recently stayed at the Andaz and will admit it is close to public transport with the railway only a few metres away from the hotel. It is strange to not have a reception area, with staff presenting themselves to you with ipad in hand as you arrive, but it seems to work.
However, you would expect in London, England that the staff would be able to have a good knowledge of english language, however you would be wrong, from reception, to room service to the restuarant the command of english was at best poor.
The rooms were minimalistic, but clean. A set of drawers to unload your clothes to would be good, but alas no, so your smalls were left in your suitcase. You would expect more given what they charge.
They do provide free coffee and biscuits in the foyer as well as free soft drinks and cookies in the room.
The bistro did provide a good quality meal and did accommadte special dietary needs so this was a positive.

All in all not a place I would not return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFlodin, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the location and the amenities. Thank you also for your positive feedback about our brasserie and I will ensure to share your comment with our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to Andaz Liverpool Street. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    432
    108
    28
    12
See reviews for
181
714
186
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Everything about this hotel made us feel welcome from the staff, the surroundings and the overall atmosphere. The room was lovely and very elegant in its simplicity; it had everything that we needed. It only for a trip away socially but also to enable me to keep in touch with my business back home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for Andaz Liverpool Street. We are really pleased to hear that you had a brilliant stay in London with us and enjoyed the facilities and our service. We will make sure to pass your feedback onto our team as they do an amazing job for the hotel. Thank you again for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on your future travels to London. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the fourth time during the past four years I am staying here with my office colleagues for our regular meetings in London. Location itself is superb, closer to the business hub and Liverpool street station. Staff is excellent, very attentive and always proactive for help. Room and all others are fantastic.

Room Tip: Really enjoy the rooms facing the Liverpool street station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities and especially the service of our staff. I wanted to take this chance to thank you for your loyalty to Andaz and the brand and hope to welcome you soon again to our hotel. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I knew it was going to be a great hotel when they allowed me to check in at 9:15 am (instead of 3 pm) as our overnight flight landed early. This enabled me to freshen up and leave the luggage before a day of meetings.
There is no 'check in' desk per se, any associate can check you in on a notebook they roam with. They are also helpful with directions, logistics etc. There is always someone to greet you when you arrive and when you depart.
The room was spotless (the bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I've ever experienced in a hotel - - you could ALMOST eat in there!), the bed and pillows extremely comfortable (there's a menu to order pillows to your liking), and the non-alcoholic beverages and snacks are complimentary. Electric adapters to accommodate US version cell phones/blackberry's are provided and Wifi is free. It was comforting to be offered a newspaper delivered each morning. The only thing that was a bit odd was that, in room 323, the hairdryer is stored inside the flip top desk, not in the bathroom.
The property is an elegant blend of historic hotel property with a hip, updated vibe.
It is half a block from the Liverpool tube stop. The London tube seemed like the NYC subway only much cleaner. For me, the tube was faster than the cab ride I took. It's very easy to navigate with clear signage which prevents foreigners from getting lost.
I can't say enough nice things about my stay here. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and review your recent stay with us at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are thrilled to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your Andaz experience and most importantly that you would recommend our hotel for future stays. We very much appreciate the great comments about our beautiful hotel and especially the staff who do a brilliant job every day. We hope to see you soon again at Andaz. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This has become my go-to hotel in London, with a great location right next to Liverpool Street station. With Spitalfields and Shoreditch within walking distance, there are a good number of restaurants and shops nearby during the evenings and weekends (even if the City is empty, given that it is very close to the financial district).

The staff is tremendously attentive and I have always been impressed with recommendations for restaurants and shops from the team. While there is no lounge, it was nice to have complimentary soft drinks in the room and I love the lemongrass scent bath products that they have in the rooms. The bathrooms are a bit strange, as the bathtub is quite narrow and high and the shower is a bit confusing. I also found the water-saving vacuum of the toilet to be a bit odd.

The breakfast buffet at 1901 is very tasty, with some great options of all the fixins of a full English, multiple juices, all kinds of bread, pastries, cheese and cold cuts. The layout of the hotel is a bit strange, but I find the decor charming and it's neat to see that many of the rooms are very different. I have been very impressed with this hotel in terms of both the amenities as well as the staff here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for naming Andaz Liverpool Street your hotel of choice for London, we highly appreciate the great comments on both our facilities but especially the staff which was able to make your stay even more memorable. We will ensure to share your feedback with our team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent five nights at the Andaz over Christmas and could not have enjoyed the stay more. After arriving on an early flight, we were warmly greeted by the staff who provided us with a place to freshen up before heading out for the day. The warmth of the staff stood out throughout the entire stay. Even on Christmas, when no one wants to work, the staff were friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be there. The suite was quirky but very nice. It was done in reds, whites, and blacks with a white subway tiled bathroom. There was a bit of noise from the vacuum drainage system and the room above, but nothing that anyone living in a city like NY or London would not expect now and again, particularly from a building of that age. The room had a Nespresso machine, a minibar, and snacks. The minibar is complementary except for alcohol. The breakfast was served in the Eastway Restaurant for three mornings and the 1901 for two. Although we enjoyed the elegance of 1901, we actually liked dining in the Eastway better because of the windows facing the street. The quality of the food was excellent, pastries fresh, good selection of English, American, and continental fare. We also ate one evening in Eastway, which is more casual, and the food was tasty then as well. We ducked into George and the Champagne Bar, but it was late so we didn't stay and they were closed after that for the holidays. Both were jumping and looked like a good time. The lobby was nice in the usual Andaz way. They commissioned a local artist to decorate for the holidays so everything was Christmas monkeys. I honestly didn't get the connection between Christmas and monkeys, but that's not the fault of the hotel and it nevertheless was fun and kitchy. They had theme snacks in the lobby each evening like banana bread, banana chips, and mulled wine. There is also a little enclave with a table and drinks for people to relax. These types of little extras are, in my opinion, what sets Andaz out as a brand. Many compare it to the W, but I don't like the W because it's all form over function and, frankly, I find the staff to be pretentious unless you are a svelte 28 year old dressed in all black. The Andaz has a better balance of form and function, effectively melding style with usability, and I have always felt like a valued guest during my stays. The Liverpool property was no different. The area is very central and very convenient. There are a number of good pubs nearby and the Liverpool station is next door. Having a major station there ensures cabs are always available.

I would return in a London minute, mostly because of the hotel's staff and excellent facilities and services, all of which reflect the quality of the hotel's management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely words and extensive review. I am convinced that it will also be appreciated by other travellers coming to London. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write it and for your loyalty towards our brand and hotel, which is not taken for granted. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the service which I will make sure to pass onto the team. We look forward to seeing you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel at least ten times in last three years as a business traveler. The location is great. It is right on liverpool street station. This station has a few tube trains connecting, so it is a relatively central if you want to get around London. The station also is great for taking regional trains as a lot of the regional trains originate and end at this station.
The staff at the hotel is really attentive though the lobby is somewhat non existent. The restaurants in the hotel are decent but the Champagne bar gets loud which I am not complaining about. Given this is a business hotel, all restaurants are closed on the weekend, which is a shame.

Room Tip: Select a room on higher floors as there is lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for this fantastic review and your kind words about Andaz Liverpool Street. It was a true pleasure having you as our guest. I would also like to thank you for your trust and loyalty towards our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location at Liverpool Street station and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay.Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz Liverpool Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Liverpool Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.