We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well refurbished East End heritage hotel adjacent to Liverpool Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Liverpool Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Liverpool Street to your Saves list
Andaz Liverpool Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #62 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well refurbished East End heritage hotel adjacent to Liverpool Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pros:
- location: literally adjacent to Liverpool St. tube station
- spacious room and comfy bed
- excellent buffet breakfast at restaurant 1901 (also choice of room service or set menu)
- posh and chic heritage hotel; great ambience
- complimentary mini bar and snacks (non-alcoholic drinks)
- very plush slippers provided
- friendly staff

Cons:
- long check-in process
- room was somehow cold despite having heat on
- ridiculously small shower cabinet despite large bathroom
- toiletries provided were rather drying
- awkward location of work desk (blocked one side of the bed)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay following your recent stay. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service of our stay who do a fantastic job every day. We will also ensure to pass your feedback about the rooms onto our Engineering team to ensure this will be followed up. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Andaz Liverpool Street. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    432
    109
    28
    12
See reviews for
181
718
186
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good :The hotel itself is good, staff is efficient, the facilities are nice, super cool breakfast.
Bad : Very noisy room.
Inside window for a superior king size bed room.
Location is quite far from mean attraction.
If we have to go back in London, we will not book this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and especially the breakfast in our very unique 1901 restaurant. The hotel is in walking distance to some of London’s main attractions such as Tower Bridge, Tower of London and St. Paul’s Cathedral and also bordering vibrant and creative East London with its many up and coming designer boutiques and markets. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We only stayed one night, but wish it could have been much longer. Only a few yards from the Liverpool Street station a great place to explore the City.

We arrived early. The room we booked wasn't available (we were too early) but we were offered either bag drop or an alternative upgraded room (for a small fee). We dropped the bags and went exploring.

The hotel reception is a little wierd, no counter just reception staff with ipads etc... up close and personal service. All staff we met were lovely, very polite and great with their customers.

When we returned we'd been upgraded, free of charge, to a king sized room and our bags had been taken up. The room was great, lovely and quiet, massive bed, flat screen TV, free wifi, spotlessly clean.

All things considered this is a great hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for this fantastic review following your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Andaz and are pleased that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon again to Andaz. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Advantages: beautiful architecture, next to underground, spacious room, comfy bed, water gets hot fast, plush towels, minibar free except liquor, free fast wired internet or wifi, safe to store valuables, choice of buffet breakfast or a la carte, friendly helpful staff

Disadvantages: One cannot plug anything by the bed because the converter won't fit into the socket (the staff provided an extension cord). The side of the bathtub is tall, forcing us to use a grab bar; but we discovered the grab bar is the towel warmer! The hair dryer is hidden inside the desk and attached to the desk, so we had to move our laptop to dry our hair. Consequently, you can't dry your hair in front of a mirror. Lastly the bathroom door clicks when closed which may disturb your sleeping spouse.

Hyatt needs to ask the interior designer for a refund. Due to these ergonomic flaws, I rate the hotel "very good" rather than "excellent".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your Andaz experience and especially the service. I will pass your feedback about the bathroom and the guest rooms onto our Engineering department as we are continuously undergoing soft refurbishment hence feedback like yours is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Andaz Liverpool Street soon again. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over New Year. Used to great service at Hyatts in Asia and was expecting somewhat lower standards in London...and was pleasantly surprised. Staff very friendly, gave us a room that was huge by London standards. Very comfortable. A la carte breakfast was great: delicious food and friendly service. We will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Wishing you a Happy New Year! Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Andaz Liverpool Street. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and 1901’s delicious buffet breakfast and that we were able to surprise you during your London visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next trip to London. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Brilliant location as we arrived next door at Liverpool Street station. Excellent customer service from all members of staff - can't rate it high enough. Fantastic access to all areas of the capital especially on New Years Eve as able to walk to all attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very pleased to hear about the excellent customer service and how much you enjoyed your Andaz experience. Thank you for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street for New Year’s Eve and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent 5 days here to experience a London Xmas and the staff at Andaz were fantastic!! Always helpful and offering exceptional service and willing to help. Great sized room and hotel amenities plus a lovely Xmas day lunch! Would stay here again and recommend to many friends visiting London. Thanks again to all the great staff at the Andaz for making our London Xmas so memorable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim F, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year and thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We love receiving such great feedback on our hotel and especially the service. I will make sure to pass it onto the team as they do an amazing job every day. Thank you again for choosing Andaz Liverpool Street to spend Christmas and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay.Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz Liverpool Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Liverpool Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.