We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andaz, better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Liverpool Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Liverpool Street to your Saves list
Andaz Liverpool Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #89 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Andaz, better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived ready to put up a fight. Reservations had been a struggle, dealing with cold agents, probably upset at the very good rate we obtained on line. Too trendy to be cool, had we thought.
But from the moment you pass the doors, kind attentions are available upon check in, at the restaurants and with most of the concierges. Rooms are simple, some dark when on the internal courtyard but have all needed amenities, including a free non alcoholic mini bar.
We regret the bathrooms ecologic system which creates loud noises while showering or using the sink. But then again, the intention is good.
The variety of restaurants is great and the bars and pubs keep you entertain.
For those with business/;leisure intentions in this area, is the a good solution.
Among the employees that marked us, Vladimir and Lisa
We appreciated a lot the follow up Email, received 2 days after our check out, and too detailed to be automated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am glad that even though you have mentioned an issue during reservation and our vaccum system your overal experience is positive. Your kind words have been shared with Vladimir and Lisa and on behalf of all of us here, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    465
    122
    30
    16
See reviews for
209
785
192
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Modern and traditional at the same time. Great restaurants and very convenient located next to Liverpool Station. Excelent recommendations from the employees, including the visit to the "secret temple" on the second floor. We had a great experience and we expereinced a different London. We stayed 3 wonderful nights at the hotel!

Room Tip: I used one of my Hyatt upgrades and the suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, I was pleased to read your comments regarding good recommendations and that you have found a different London. Thank you for your loyalty, I am glad you liked the suite upgrade. We look forward to welcome you back to London and Andaz again in the near future. With my best regards Arnaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only live 16 miles from London and stayed in London for a treat whilst family were visiting from overseas. The staff went out of their way to look after us and even had toys / books for my young nephew. The roads were shut when we were leaving and the porters even took all of the luggage from my visiting family, quite a way down the road to a waiting car. We don't normally stay up in town but am already looking to rebook the Andaz for the festive season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Alissa, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here following your stay with us. I was glad to read that you and your family enjoyed Andaz. Your kind words have been passed to our team, in particular to our door hosts. We would be delighted to have you back for the festive season. With warm regards, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fabulous Hotel! The staff were so attentive, caring, professional and very smartly presented.
The rooms were spacious, very well equipped and spotlessly clean.
I cannot recommend this hotel high enough! Excellent stay in a stunning Hotel. Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Andaz. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always encouraging to receive comments like yours especially for our staff. On behalf of the whole team, we look forward to welcome again soon. With my best regards Arnaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were in London and Paris this summer and we stayed at the Andaz on the front- and back-end of our trip. My family loved the stay so much, that upon our return from Paris on the Eurostar, we couldn't wait to get back to the luxury and service at the Andaz!

For one thing, we had booked 2 adjoining rooms since we are a family of four (in Paris we only had one room). That alone made the vacation absolutely amazing, as we had 2 bathrooms, showers, tv's, minibars, etc.! We were in heaven! The rooms couldn't be nicer or cleaner or stocked with more amenities, comfier beds or more wonderful showers. The staff is truly top-notch and helped us with everything, including storing our bags for the time we were in Paris so we wouldn't have to take so much luggage on the train. We even returned from Paris to find teddy bears and slippers for the kids (so sweet!).

Before we got to London, we were a bit wary of staying in the East London area, as it was not as familiar to us as the other side of town. Our friends who visited two weeks before us stayed in swanky Mayfair at a big-name hotel and were absolutely disappointed in the aging amenities at their hotel, whereas everything about the Andaz and the Spitalfields/Shoreditch area are cutting edge/new. I was SO happy we went with the Andaz, especially being able to walk to the Spitalfields Market and great restaurants and shops along Bishopsgate and Shoreditch High Street (yay Pizza East!).

We have stayed at the Andaz Wall Street in NYC in the past and this hotel is comparable in every way. I cannot recommend Andaz properties highly enough! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Andaz and East London during your trip to London. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. It is always encouraging to receive comments like yours and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Andaz again in the near further. With my best regards Arnaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I am a big fan of Andaz properties. Next to the 5th Ave property in NYC, this was our best Andaz experience. The hotel is located next to Liverpool tube station, so getting around the city from this hotel was great. The staff was tentative and friendly.

The breakfast spread at 1901 was very comparable to the spread at the Park Hyatt Vendome. My wife loved the complimentary non alcoholic beverages and snacks in the mini fridge. The only thing keep this hotel from a 5 star review is the plumbing. It is mildly annoying at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank for your loyalty to Andaz and for taking the time to leave your feedback here following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that despite the noisy plumbing your were happy with the service provided. On behalf of all of us here, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards, Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our "usual" 5* London Hotel was not available on our chosen dates so we thought we would try an alternative. What a great decision. From the moment of arrival to leaving the staff could not do enough for us. "Reception" staff coming to us with Tablet PCs to check us in rather than being ignored standing at a Reception desk was brilliant. We arrived, registered and left our cases to start our holiday all in less than 10 minutes, and checking out was just as easy. Facilities, choice of restaurants and location were ideal and breakfast was as good as any hotel in London. For our next trip The Andaz will be FIRST choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnauddeSaintExupery, General Manager at Andaz Liverpool Street, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that we are now your first choice and I look forward to welcome you back again in the future. With my best regards Arnaud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Liverpool Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Liverpool Street

Address: 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Liverpool Street 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the first of Hyatt's Andaz brand, and redefine your personal style at Andaz Liverpool Street. Located in the heart of the city, this London 5-star luxury hotel provides the perfect location for both business and leisure. One of the original London railway hotels, formerly opened as the Great Eastern, the Andaz is housed in a beautiful redbrick Victorian building dating back to 1884. Once inside, it transforms into a 21st century masterpiece, with 267 beautifully appointed modern guest rooms. Walking through the doors of the only Liverpool Street hotel, you are immediately greeted by an Andaz Host and invited to relax in the Andaz Lounge. Sip a complimentary beverage while the check-in comes to you via handheld iPads. Internet access, local landline phone calls and non-alcoholic mini-bar are provided complimentary for all our guests throughout their stay.Andaz Liverpool Street is included in 2013's Conde Nast Traveller Gold List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Andaz Liverpool Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Liverpool Street Hotel London
Hyatt London
Andaz Liverpool Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Liverpool Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.