We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor kitchen, but the pub is alright...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion

White Lion
24 James Street, London, England (Covent Garden)
020 7240 1064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,776 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: You will find The White Lion in Covent Garden London within a short stroll of Covent Garden Tube, Long Acre and Floral Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The White Lion is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Poor kitchen, but the pub is alright...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This tourist pub in Covent Garden has ok atmosphere when you stay downstairs in the pub. The restaurant at second floor is tiny and crowded, and the food is quite poor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    111
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We ate here last night (27th) while waiting to see Matilda. We had looked around Covent Garden but decided that it might be cheaper a little bit further away. As we had already passed this olde worlde pub earlier we gave it a try. The dining room is upstairs and although small became quite busy. I don't agree with some of the other reviews as the fish & chips was lovely and the beef pie also looked tasty. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the sticky toffee pudding was yummy. The waitress was friendly, even though she was very busy. Would definitely recommend if in the Covent Garden area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Let down by cold veg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Business lunch - looked great but the veg was cold. My guest had a great looking pie and I think had a better meal than me

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,313 helpful votes 1,313 helpful votes
“really bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The waiters try hard and they are really friendly and efficient, but the food is just really bad - and don't fall for the fish and chips which is pretty indigestible. The atmosphere is your average British pub and the location is - truth be told - perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely English pub for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Covent Gardens are always busy and packed. We popped into this little pub for a relaxing pint and to people watch. Inside the pub is very small, and no seating area outside, but like in a lot of London pubs, people seem to all stand outside drinking their drink and watching the world go around.

The bar staff were very friendly and served us quickly. They also didnt hesitate in allowing me to sample some beers which id not tried before, before settling on the pint of my choice.

Certainly would return here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Lion also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.