We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Ado for Nothing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Halepi

Halepi
Leinster terrace, London, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,507 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $41 - $52
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much Ado for Nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Despite all the hype I have to say I wasn't amazed at this restaurant at all. The atmosphere is lovely and the food is good, though, for the price you could get much better elsewhere. Our waiter had quite a sarcastic humor and we felt like we were rushed to order and eat quickly so that they can turn our table. We ordered a bottle of white and red Greek house wine and were served a French without even being notified or asked if we were happy with that???!!! When I queried this the waiter said they didn't have any Greek wine - which I doubted as I saw at least three on the menu - adding "anyway the French wine is much nicer". Not sure if I owned a Greek restaurant I would employ staff with such an attitude...
Go and see it for yourself, but we definitely won't go back there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    81
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just great - always welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have been here loads of times over the years and returns for the first time in ages in Feb. Always busy (and if full they send you to the pub opposite then come fetch you) and always bustling. The food (Greek all the way through) is big and tasty. There's loads of choice and the meze is amazing. Cost adds up if you go nuts (fish meze plus two bottles if wine) but hey, you only live once. And someone else was paying anyway !!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley, scotland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Like a Greek Taverna but less room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a party of 4 we felt somewhat cramped by the lack of space. However, the food was very good. The Saganaki to start was excellent and at £8 it should be. The lamb I had for my main course was a let down & the Afelia my friends had was disappointing. Space was at a premium - tables were pushed against the wall seats and only brought forward when occupied and that left little room to manouvre. This was described as the best Greek Restaurant outside Greece but Athena in Glasgow is better buts thats my opinion.
I used the toilet and was shocked to find only cold water available at the tap ( hot turned off or not connected) - I hope the staff use one that has hot running water.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Saturday before Xmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in close proximity to the Halepi and took a chance they'd have room for us early on the Saturday night before Xmas.

The staff were excellent, the wine was good value and the food was superb - my wife had the sea bass which was simply outstanding.

If you like Greek food, don't want to 'break the bank' but have a good night look no further.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Busy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Met old friends here for dinner early evening the other Saturday; tables are very close together & there's not much personal space. It's a family-run restaurant & the service is efficient & charming; food was very good indeed but can't comment on value as we were guests. We left around 7pm by which time it was filling up & looked to be getting very busy. Probably a fun place to spend an evening but quite noisy & maybe not the best choice if you're meeting friends for an annual catch-up. Would return to explore the menu further, however.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halepi also viewed

 

Been to Halepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halepi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.